Radio Station License - Who has one?

Postby DarkHelmet » Wed Sep 17, 2008 10:32 am

Did the renewal of my ATF and received a concerning call from Braam regarding a radio station license. Apparantly the owner 2 owners before me applied for a radio station license from ICASA - in 2002. Braam phoned me to inform me that this is on record and I need to address the issue with ICASA. Can anyone shed some light on this mystery?

I have a Radio Telephony: R- in my license but that just authorises me to use aviation radio's, apparantly the handset has a yearly fee of R380 and a once of transfer fee of R50?

PS - thanks for the heads up Braam and also thanks for processing my ATF so quickly.
ZULU1

Re: Radio Station License - Who has one?

Postby ZULU1 » Wed Sep 17, 2008 10:56 am

DH, I have been into this project before, we as a business etc have umpteen different ICASA licences (yes even to fix them !!)...it seems that should the radio be physically mounted to the aerie then a site or station licence is required. That would be a panel mount radio or even a hand held mounted with a screw type arrangement. Velcro or a bungie is a removable device then you apparently require a radio "owners" licence. That is to own the radio, to use it obviously we all need the Radio licence etc.

My advice to new NTCA aeries is go the hand held non type approved and save the work.

I will however contact ICASA (eish) to obtain some clarity on the matter.

Zulu1
Centrifugal force in pure Physics does not exist, however this does not apply to Taxi drivers..

Postby Morph » Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:08 am

I spoke to Icasa the other day. Every single radio that is capable of transmitting requires a radio licence. in our case we have to have an aviation radio station licence, irrespective of panel mount or handheld. Is you use it in an aircraft, then it must be licenced. CAA police have been going to fly-ins and inspecting aircraft and klapping the guys.

First application R380 admin fee, R48 licence, thereafter, R48 per year.

Additionally any operator of a radio has to have an operators licence, that says you know what to say, when. This you have to get as part of your MPL
LarryMcG

Postby LarryMcG » Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:11 am

There was a previous thing on this, a month or two ago. ALL radios need a lic - base, fixed, handheld, little portable non - aviation ones, CB's etc etc.

L
Still Flying
ICEMAN

Postby ICEMAN » Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:51 pm

what irks me is that some trikes get an AFT without a radio licence , by simply writing "handheld" in the CAA paperwork and stating that a radio below 1500ft is not mandatory....... im not annoyed that they get it right, im annoyed with the consistancy issues. ($$) .
ZU-CPW..... t/bird mk2
Hoedspruit Civil Airfield
Hangar 8
extra300s

Postby extra300s » Wed Sep 17, 2008 2:10 pm

They are milking us milky looking okes. That is a fact! Boat lisences for any dam, special gun lisences etc etc! When is it gonna stop, we will not be able to keep up. R300 plus, admin fee, for 1 min of data entry to a pc. No ways! ^^.^ Makes me want to ^?^
Take to the sky
ZU-CBI
Aerotrike Scout

Postby Morph » Wed Sep 17, 2008 4:05 pm

Let me try make this clear

the minimum instrument list (CAR 91.04.4) states that there needs to be an ASI, ALT, Magentic compass and a time piece. That is it

the ATF will be issued on these instruments. The radio is not a complusory item unless you are in controlled airspace or advisory airspace. Here a radio is mandatory

However if you DO have a radio installed then ICASA (not CAA) states that you have to have a radio station licence. However it appears the CAA thugs have a directlive from ICASA to check for radio licence. I does appear that this is changing and quickly.
skybound®

Postby skybound® » Wed Sep 17, 2008 4:21 pm

Morph wrote:unless you are in controlled airspace or advisory airspace. Here a radio is mandatory
...and most Special Rules Areas. There is a requirement that you maintain a listening watch.

Postby Tumbleweed » Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:08 pm

Anyone have the link to the correct download form?

Postby John Boucher » Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:26 pm

ICEMAN

Postby ICEMAN » Wed Sep 17, 2008 6:10 pm

Morph wrote:Let me try make this clear

However if you DO have a radio installed then ICASA (not CAA) states that you have to have a radio station licence. However it appears the CAA thugs have a directlive from ICASA to check for radio licence. I does appear that this is changing and quickly.
Does a portable handheld count as "installed". I queried them (ICASA) when i did mine- their answer was vague, very vague :evil: :evil: - they gave my handheld radio the aircraft registration as an "ID", so strictly speaking the handheld radio can only be used on one plane.

It was however abundently clear when i went for the ATF @ CAA that it was "required" ; they never queried in which airspace or region i was hangared or intended to fly in.......
:roll:
ZU-CPW..... t/bird mk2
Hoedspruit Civil Airfield
Hangar 8

Postby The Agent » Wed Sep 17, 2008 6:33 pm

What is worse is even if you pay the R48.00 fee per annum that is all CAA wants to see BUT they(Icasa) never ever send your written licnense to you.

Typical that they don't know who does what.

Postby Morph » Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:16 am

skybound® wrote:...and most Special Rules Areas. There is a requirement that you maintain a listening watch.
Agreed, for us here in the Cape we regularly fly through FAD200, the General Flight training area, 125.8 Cape Town special rules west, Langebaan and Ysterplaat airspaces. In our case a Radio is compulsory. However if you are up in Loeriesfontein like Boet, then not so.

Icasa made it very clear to me, If you use a radio in the plane, handheld or not, you have to have a licence.

Postby The Agent » Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:47 am

Agree Morph BUT can they please give me a dic that I have a license, I do not want to use the proof of payment as a license. puff
Big Al
Ready for the first flight

Postby Big Al » Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:02 pm

I have been trying to get hold of someone at ICASA (011 5663000) and every time i get put through i hit the voicemail. I have tried for about 6 weeks and probably 30 phone calls and still have not managed to speak to anyone at ICASA other than the receptionist. So how do i renew my radio licence????????????????????? :x :x :x :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :evil: :evil: :evil: