Ballistic Chutes revisited
- gertcoetzee
Ballistic Chutes revisited
On DVE I have a chute, and now that I am getting another (spare) trike, I was thinking of denying my wife the benefit of my policies for some time to come, but a new BRS, everything included cost R28699.80
Then I called Alex (Leprocyhorn) (because he recently advertised a springloaded chute) and his first words were that trikes do not need chutes 'cause we can land them anywhere, and when I told him that it is for a wing failure he said in none of the accidents where this happened a chute would have helped. Although he did not put it quite like this, he said the G-forces would be too much to allow you to scratch your balls (which comes naturally), nevermind pulling a lever between your legs. And he has a point, since the only recorded use of a chute was in a cloud, level but not too straight, never been a accident where the wing went one way, and a chute saved a life. Which made me think, if a springloaded type chute is attached to the mast/pylon, and rigged in such a way that when the wing collapse or disappear, should this not be a cheaper and workable alternative? Alex could not remember the make of the chute, and I have been unable to find any reference to a springloaded chute on the web.
Anyone knows anything about these springloaded chutes?
Then I called Alex (Leprocyhorn) (because he recently advertised a springloaded chute) and his first words were that trikes do not need chutes 'cause we can land them anywhere, and when I told him that it is for a wing failure he said in none of the accidents where this happened a chute would have helped. Although he did not put it quite like this, he said the G-forces would be too much to allow you to scratch your balls (which comes naturally), nevermind pulling a lever between your legs. And he has a point, since the only recorded use of a chute was in a cloud, level but not too straight, never been a accident where the wing went one way, and a chute saved a life. Which made me think, if a springloaded type chute is attached to the mast/pylon, and rigged in such a way that when the wing collapse or disappear, should this not be a cheaper and workable alternative? Alex could not remember the make of the chute, and I have been unable to find any reference to a springloaded chute on the web.
Anyone knows anything about these springloaded chutes?
Last edited by gertcoetzee on Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Ballistic Chutes revisited
Funny just a week ago we were also discussing the Chute issue. When I sold the Ikarus to a mate of mine I insited that he had a balistic shute fitted.
I just wantedhim to have asecond chance. Whenever we fly the a/c I am also guilty not even the safty pin is taken out, thinking you will do it if an emergency arrises.
Like you said no ways brother. From then on we have made it part of the # list to remove the saftey pin as the lever you have to pull needs 30 lbs of pull power to activate it. Then comes the suprise when the shute ropes or lines or cablels cut through the roof of the a/c allmost destroying it and you as the pax are suppose to hit the ground and hopefully walk or crawl away.
I am told that the errie will be a wreck.
I would also love some positive feedback on the shute issue.
Sorry Gert I did not try and HIJACK but you have a very valid point.
The guy who sells the BRS systems is on the forum and some facts not sales talk would be aoppreciated.
Lekker vlieg manne da inni Kaap een van die dae is ek ook daar.
I just wantedhim to have asecond chance. Whenever we fly the a/c I am also guilty not even the safty pin is taken out, thinking you will do it if an emergency arrises.
Like you said no ways brother. From then on we have made it part of the # list to remove the saftey pin as the lever you have to pull needs 30 lbs of pull power to activate it. Then comes the suprise when the shute ropes or lines or cablels cut through the roof of the a/c allmost destroying it and you as the pax are suppose to hit the ground and hopefully walk or crawl away.

I am told that the errie will be a wreck.
I would also love some positive feedback on the shute issue.
Sorry Gert I did not try and HIJACK but you have a very valid point.
The guy who sells the BRS systems is on the forum and some facts not sales talk would be aoppreciated.
Lekker vlieg manne da inni Kaap een van die dae is ek ook daar.

Tell me Agent, will a wrecked plane be worth having a second chance to see your kids again? I think so. I believe there are way to many circumstances or situations that one can get into and need that chute and when you are able to pull that cord but you have no chute then its TOOOOO LATE!!!!!
Gert look at the GRS chute i think its around 20k all in. Speak tyo Abe on this forum.
Fly safe.
Gert look at the GRS chute i think its around 20k all in. Speak tyo Abe on this forum.
Fly safe.
- Gaylord Focker
- Whats the right frequency?
Hey Massimo
Let uncle fFokker tell you how and what to do:
Go off to your local Edgars store or which ever one the softness wishes to choose.
Go to the underwear department get yourself a DDDD 59 Bra the one with the huge bastard cups and strap it around your head like a helmut , when the shit hits the fan you have yourself a built in super dooper parachute with no spring loading or rocket and when you land safely and somebody comes up to you and sais Fu@#@ me i have never seen such a big canopy in my life you can then awnser you havent seen my girlfriend yet .
try it i did i havent seen the guy since and my girlfriend is still on the run
Cheers china
Let uncle fFokker tell you how and what to do:
Go off to your local Edgars store or which ever one the softness wishes to choose.
Go to the underwear department get yourself a DDDD 59 Bra the one with the huge bastard cups and strap it around your head like a helmut , when the shit hits the fan you have yourself a built in super dooper parachute with no spring loading or rocket and when you land safely and somebody comes up to you and sais Fu@#@ me i have never seen such a big canopy in my life you can then awnser you havent seen my girlfriend yet .
try it i did i havent seen the guy since and my girlfriend is still on the run
Cheers china
Wild Chicks,Cold beer,KY Jelly and Gt450 Nothing else required!!!!!!!!!
THE FORCE IS STRONG ON THE DARK SIDE
Gert
I too have pondered the merits of a chute of any description. It's interesting that Leprechaun (Misasa safety guy) reckons trikes don't need chutes. Anyway, if there is at least one account of a trike save (even if in cloud) then I guess that answers your question. What would you have done in that guy's situation? There are several other accounts of chute saves in other types of aircraft, so why not trikes? It is true that we may be able to land in most cases, but what about structural failure - there are also numerous accounts of these failures on various trike models and if your emergency handle is placed correctly - I reckon you'd find the energy to pull it
. Do we assume that the guys flying other aircraft types that were saved did not experience any G forces - I don't think so
I know that I'd rather want to have the option of trying to pull the handle when things do go wrong - I don't know, you decide. My 2c worth!
BTW - I've also been trying to find out more about the spring-loaded chutes - somebody must've made them at some point but the internet seems to be keeping secrets. Maybe somebody else can shed some light?
I too have pondered the merits of a chute of any description. It's interesting that Leprechaun (Misasa safety guy) reckons trikes don't need chutes. Anyway, if there is at least one account of a trike save (even if in cloud) then I guess that answers your question. What would you have done in that guy's situation? There are several other accounts of chute saves in other types of aircraft, so why not trikes? It is true that we may be able to land in most cases, but what about structural failure - there are also numerous accounts of these failures on various trike models and if your emergency handle is placed correctly - I reckon you'd find the energy to pull it

BTW - I've also been trying to find out more about the spring-loaded chutes - somebody must've made them at some point but the internet seems to be keeping secrets. Maybe somebody else can shed some light?
- John Boucher
A Bushcat is Born - CH 211 C "Super Excited"

Thanks BAD NAV.
Couple of trike saves in that mix - and that's for BRS alone. Reinforces my point!
- Tumbleweed
There's no stat showing which fatality would have been avoided, but maybe round the world trip over China, the instructor over Crossroads or the Groblerdal fly-in?
I can promise you any consciously medically passed pilot will have the adrenalin to pull that lever.
You could say men can smoke coz we should'nt get pregnant, or if you wear a condom then you're safer whilst driving.
Anyway, my ballistic gives me my ATF from the boss to flip my brats and a rocket against a petrol tank tank one foot from my arse lets you ponder more if the scenery gets boring.
Depends on your comfort zone.
I can promise you any consciously medically passed pilot will have the adrenalin to pull that lever.
You could say men can smoke coz we should'nt get pregnant, or if you wear a condom then you're safer whilst driving.
Anyway, my ballistic gives me my ATF from the boss to flip my brats and a rocket against a petrol tank tank one foot from my arse lets you ponder more if the scenery gets boring.
Depends on your comfort zone.
I have debated the BRS issue with myself and my friend many times. I have heard the argument that the G forses will be too high to pull the chute. In a helcopter if on blade seperates the apparently the reaction is so violent that it will snap the pilots neck. I do not understand why this is so in a plane. How do fighter pilots pulls their ejection seats?? And there are many many instances where fighter pilots have ejected.
For me - I believe in it and if you can afford it , go for it. When you are falling to the earth , how much would you pay for a chute.
Coyote
Life looks better from 2000 ft
I've rolled this one around in my mind for a while as well. Murphy will ensure if you spend money on a chute you will not need it & thats good. Simplistically what are the down sides to having one? A couple of extra kilo's towards MTOW + the added spend (R28k seems a lot compared to the numbers I am familiar with.) If the Big Boss says its your time then thats that. If you have an engine out over hostile ground (trees/buildings/hillsides/water) I am sure landing 10km/h inverted,vertically is less painful then 40km/h+ horizontally. All the discussion ouround the 300hr crank issue (R30k MOH) struck me as odd as it was patently obvious crank failure does not kill pilots, ubrupt deceleration due to contacting the ground does. So focus there. It would be a lively debate if chutes & radios became compulsory for us - thats a good tradeoff cost vs. safety.
If you can fly today - leave everything else for tomorrow
I've just fitted a chute to my trike, if it gives me 0.5% chance of surviving a catastrophic wing failure, mid air collision or engine out over unlandable territory then is there a price to pay to see my kids grow up?? I think not - you cannot put a price on that.
- John Boucher
0.5 % chance.... ? Your odds are a bit low Nkwazi
50% sounds better otherwise it sounds like the movie series Final Destination!

- gertcoetzee
http://www.social.trikepilot.com/forum/ ... ic%3A25596
Thanks all for input. Also see above link.
Will comment later.
Thanks all for input. Also see above link.
Will comment later.
- andreb
- Pilot in Command
I am not in agrement with the statement that G-forces will be too great to pull the chute. It is based on assumption and not facts (imho). Has anyone ver tested what the G-forces are when falling? or what the human body is capable of when pumped with adrenalin? How do fighter pilots do it?
I think a chute is a good bet. Mine gives me that little bit more comfort when flying, especially when it gets really bumpy at altitude (yes, i know it's all in the mind).
A word of caution though, don't become windgat just because you have a chute. Same rules and discipline applies, the chute is just a last resort life saver.
My 5 cents.

I think a chute is a good bet. Mine gives me that little bit more comfort when flying, especially when it gets really bumpy at altitude (yes, i know it's all in the mind).
A word of caution though, don't become windgat just because you have a chute. Same rules and discipline applies, the chute is just a last resort life saver.
My 5 cents.

Some days it's not even worth chewing through the restraints
Non scholae sed vitae discimus
Hi Guys
I tend to disagree that the G Forces would be to great to pull the lever, as the guys doing a parachute freefall have no problem doing so.
I reckon probably the biggest danger if something goes wrong is heart failure !!
cheers
I tend to disagree that the G Forces would be to great to pull the lever, as the guys doing a parachute freefall have no problem doing so.
I reckon probably the biggest danger if something goes wrong is heart failure !!
cheers