THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Postby mulderpm » Mon Sep 02, 2013 10:01 am

JCH wrote:Hi Paul, even found the spot for Microland directly in Google search. thanks!
Yip JCH that also works. I see there is now a second Microland in the spot search.

Lekker flight this morning and chin wag with Merv, Fanie, Alan, Peter and all in the office.
windguru.jpg

Postby Bundy » Mon Sep 02, 2013 10:48 am

Amazingly accurate forecast as usual. As I left the airfield 03 was coming into use exactly as per your Windguru page! Windspeeds are pretty dead on too... (^^)

Thanks for the company Paul, a full battery should sort out the radio. :roll:
I can certainly think of worse ways to spend a Monday morning...I had fun. (!!)
3 x pin point sim forced lobs and some good crosswind landing practice. This Aquilla of ours is just an absolute joy to fly. (^^)
SANY0031.JPG
SANY0032.JPG
SANY0034.JPG
SANY0035.JPG
SANY0037.JPG
SANY0039.JPG

Postby mulderpm » Mon Sep 02, 2013 12:08 pm

Alan, your arm is long hey. Great saamvlieg, thanks.

I don't know how windguru does it but they are generally spot on. The Friday lunch time 37 Knt winds were predicted from as early as Monday. I suppose more historical data and better forcasting models have made it possible. Makes for safer flying , what a pleasure.

Postby nicow » Mon Sep 02, 2013 12:33 pm

Bundy wrote:Amazingly accurate forecast as usual. As I left the airfield 03 was coming into use exactly as per your Windguru page! Windspeeds are pretty dead on too... (^^)

Thanks for the company Paul, a full battery should sort out the radio. :roll:
I can certainly think of worse ways to spend a Monday morning...I had fun. (!!)
3 x pin point sim forced lobs and some good crosswind landing practice. This Aquilla of ours is just an absolute joy to fly. (^^)
SANY0031.JPG
SANY0032.JPG
SANY0034.JPG
SANY0035.JPG
SANY0037.JPG
SANY0039.JPG
Nice pics (!!) (^^)
nico@limpopoflightschool.co.za

Postby Bundy » Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:36 am

Episode 5 planned guys....

Please RSVP! Space limited and this one will sell out for sure! :)

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=21766

Postby mulderpm » Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:25 am

Thanks Stef for the saamvlieg. Did some "runway" inspections this morning. A3, to the east of Petit, just east of Etwatwa, is overgrown..not usable! ##
Cohen, 10Km to the east of the Bapsfontein tower is neglected but seems usable. All are private strips and for emergencys only.
Bateleur

Postby Bateleur » Fri Sep 06, 2013 10:11 am

Thanks Pauol, great om weer in die lug te wees.
Ons comms maak my net KLAAR!! Ek het nou altwee baterye gecharge en ek gaan sommer die headset sin ook vervang. Hopelik is ons dan gesort!!
Die naweek se weer lyk nie gied nie. Typical weekend weather! (**)
Stef Oosthuizen
Step it up a notch!!
ZU DBP
Conrad

Postby Conrad » Fri Sep 06, 2013 10:21 am

Stef, gaan koop vir jul Airmagic kit, dan is jul probleme uitgesort, ek het al vergeet wanneer laas ek batterye gelaai het.
Venaand gaan ek vlieg, dit lyk na goeie voor-naweek-vlieg-weer.
Wie ga saam?
Dalk die laaste Aeros vlieg.
Piet Bez
Ready for the first flight

Postby Piet Bez » Fri Sep 06, 2013 12:08 pm

Aggenee Conna het jy nou werklik die Aeros gaan staan en verkoop ?
Jy gaan nog baie spyt wees daaroor.
Pieter Bezuidenhoudt
Groen Mamba
ZU-BIE

Postby mulderpm » Fri Sep 06, 2013 12:08 pm

Conrad, it is an airmagic. On transmission the signal is broken up. My radio's squelch opens and closes (or nothing at all) with his transmission and I hear him clearly but in bursts. Like as if he rapidly pushes and releases the PTT while talking? Stef and Alan has tried new batteries in the radio and now the headset. Stef also tells me that, if he plugs in the external power and the ignition is off, the radio dies. That is, if connected to external power the internal battery is disconnected. (**)

I drove/crawled back at 7, in the mist this morning....flight cancelled. It only cleared at the R21 (Route 21). ##
KlapperKnop

Postby KlapperKnop » Fri Sep 06, 2013 12:27 pm

Both AirMagic .... My shitty Buzzcom seems to be just fine!
ZU-DJE
D2O

Postby D2O » Fri Sep 06, 2013 5:29 pm

mulderpm wrote:Conrad, it is an airmagic. On transmission the signal is broken up. My radio's squelch opens and closes (or nothing at all) with his transmission and I hear him clearly but in bursts. Like as if he rapidly pushes and releases the PTT while talking? Stef and Alan has tried new batteries in the radio and now the headset. Stef also tells me that, if he plugs in the external power and the ignition is off, the radio dies. That is, if connected to external power the internal battery is disconnected. (**)

I drove/crawled back at 7, in the mist this morning....flight cancelled. It only cleared at the R21 (Route 21). ##
That sounds like the radio battery that's flat, and not the intercom. Maybe a short on the external power cable that plugs into the radio that's draining the battery?
Have you tried charging the radio on a desktop charger, and using the radio without plugging in to the external charger on the aerie?
Plane-less

Postby mulderpm » Sat Sep 07, 2013 7:46 am

D2O, I suggested that to Bundy. The problem is intermittent, so when it occurs I try to tell him but he can't hear me...so he doesnt know when to try internal battery only ## Me thinks, next time do the whole flight on internal battery. If that fails, only use the PTT on the radio, i.s.o. the external one. Next would be to disconnect the external antennae and use the rubber duck. It is not an intercom problem.

Thanks for the suggestion D2O. (^^)

Connie, lekker gistermiddag gevlieg ne' '.......jy kan nie vir daai Mooi aerie van jou verkoop nie ## ##

Postby Bundy » Sat Sep 07, 2013 9:14 am

The airmagic system is fine chaps.The problem is that theVertex's battery is flat. That's what happens when someone forgets to turn off the radio after flying... ^
We bought a spare battery last month for the radio and the idea is to swop the radio battery on the plane with a fully charged one when we go fly....but certain partners are a bit forgetful.... :roll: ## :)

I change the batteries in the air magic headset everytime I service the plane (25 hours) so highly unlikely that they are to blame.

PC still buggered, wll prob only get a new one next week sometime, at least managing to log on with a borrowed laptop.

Fly safe gents, my Sep flying budget just saw it's arse I'm afraid, will def see you guys at the braai next week though. (^^)
Bateleur

Postby Bateleur » Sat Sep 07, 2013 11:20 am

Both radio bateries are now fully charged of desktop charger. I will fit a fully charged one and sommer replace the headset batteries as well. I am sure we will be fine then. (^^)
Stef Oosthuizen
Step it up a notch!!
ZU DBP