THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Loco

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Postby Loco » Tue May 14, 2013 4:56 pm

mulderpm wrote:Had an awesome flight this morning. Thanks Faiz for being my wingman (^^) . Just one more touch and go...in those conditions...automatic puff . 290 hrs on HOBBS. Have to start saving! ##
You must be ready for Numbi! :)
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds

Postby mulderpm » Tue May 14, 2013 5:07 pm

Loco wrote:
mulderpm wrote:Had an awesome flight this morning. Thanks Faiz for being my wingman (^^) . Just one more touch and go...in those conditions...automatic puff . 290 hrs on HOBBS. Have to start saving! ##
You must be ready for Numbi! :)
Ja..we did a T & G at Rhino.... No one! Cold, 4 deg on grnd....lekker warm at 5600...11 deg...well it feels like it @ the time.

Numbi is te veeeeeeer...het jy vergeet....verte...vrees..strikes/kicks in after +/- 30k's. :mrgreen:

See you Saturday (^^)

Postby Bundy » Tue May 14, 2013 5:23 pm

Shoe....just dont go too close to Swaziland!

There's Witches there! (**) :shock:
witches.jpg
witches.jpg (60.04 KiB) Viewed 1800 times
KlapperKnop

Postby KlapperKnop » Tue May 14, 2013 6:07 pm

Thanks Paul for the flight this morning, a memorable flight as I have reached my 200hr within 18 months of embarking my microlight journey .... now the next 10 hours for Class C instructor!
ZU-DJE
Loco

Postby Loco » Tue May 14, 2013 7:50 pm

KlapperKnop wrote:
Thanks Paul for the flight this morning, a memorable flight as I have reached my 200hr within 18 months of embarking my microlight journey .... now the next 10 hours for Class C instructor!
Congrats!!! (^^) good luck with the training
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds

Postby Bundy » Wed May 15, 2013 7:44 am

KlapperKnop wrote: Thanks Paul for the flight this morning, a memorable flight as I have reached my 200hr within 18 months of embarking my microlight journey .... now the next 10 hours for Class C instructor!
And a great instructor you will make I believe Fiz... :)

200 hours in 18 months is a mighty fine accomplishment...at 133 hrs a year you are miles above the average flying hours per year which I believe is sitting at around 30!! :wink:

By far the most airbourne Tailwind member (^^) (^^)

Kudo's to you my friend! You may just be taking me up for my renewal in Feb??? (**)

.....be nice! :lol:

Postby mulderpm » Wed May 15, 2013 9:39 am

KlapperKnop wrote:
Great Faiz, so can I do my flight skills test with you in November?

There are not many who can claim 12hr per month. No wonder you always fly "boepens".

Does 200hr not mean you have to do something extra...ordinary...like fly naked for 30 minutes with a person of the opposite sex? Or is that at 500hr? No wonder you didn't say anything until now...looks like warmer weather coming up :lol:
PeterGrant

Lekker flying late afternoons

Postby PeterGrant » Thu May 16, 2013 11:28 am

Howzit,
I went for a spin after work in the last hour of daylight at ML on Tues.
Only Hans was there fiddling with his Sav. otherwise I had the sky to myself.
Had to tune to ATIS every now and then to be sure the radio was still working or if the end-time had happened and I was left behind!
The beauty is that when you take off, whatever bumps you feel will be the worst you get, after that it gets smoother an smoother.
One thing to watch for is V-formations of big birds (Ibis) arriving at the pans near the runway.
They all seem to arrive from the West, out of the sunset, so they're difficult to see.
They keep to about 100ft AGL and do take avoiding action when they see you.

See you at the braai Sat

Postby mulderpm » Thu May 16, 2013 2:09 pm

Peter, will be great to see you on Saturday. (^^) Nice flying in the afternoon...just don't let a headwind and sunset catch you.

Postby nicow » Thu May 16, 2013 2:26 pm

Julle Microlanders word uitgenooi om ons te kom besoek vir 'n lekker braai,kamp in die bos,vlieg en ontbyt. puff puff puff
Bring Mammie saam en wees romanties in die Bosveld s057
Bring lewer pille vir die wat gaan saam kuier (^^) Lekker mampoer hier by ons s023
Selfs die met stadige aeries zzzz is welkom.
Kyk ook onder Events Ontbyt in Potties - 29 Junie 2013...
nico@limpopoflightschool.co.za

Postby Bundy » Fri May 17, 2013 6:54 am

Thanks Nico, If I'm able to attend I will...will need to check the work schedule closer to the time though. Potties been on the radar for a while, bout time we ventured further North. (^^)

Guys, the weather will not stop the braai tommorrow...ons is die hards....julle weet mos. (!!)

Flying is debatable, wind and low cloud predicted...I will be there and make a call for myself, as should you. :)

Looking forward to a lekker Gees around the fire tommorrow. (^^)

Nick I will try and remember to bring your Jacket!!! Please sms me and remind me this evening :roll:

See ya...I'm off to go add a few more blood blisters to my hands...drilling 2000 holes aint fun!

Later masterbaters ^ ##

Postby Bundy » Fri May 17, 2013 2:58 pm

Nick's bringing charcoal, I've got the braaipacks for those who I called this week and I will get some lekker braai bread for us. Paul bringing the salad stuff.

We may even get a visit from the new Bushcat Amphibian! Awesome. (!!)

Cheers, it's beer time now. (^^)
ME 109

Postby ME 109 » Fri May 17, 2013 10:26 pm

Hi Microlanders,
Andries here, hope to join the next "braai and fly" (^^) to meet all the aviators that I've read about on the forum. Currently in Brazil but will be doing my flight test :P on 4 June with Fanie if all goes well....I became the proud owner of ZU-CSZ (ex Jaco van Zyl Aquilla), hope to share the skies with all microlanders soon! Celebrate license as well (^^)
Andries Kruger
ZU-CSZ Aquilla 582 (Bumble bee)

Postby Bundy » Sat May 18, 2013 5:21 am

And that we shall Andries!

Good luck with your flight test, we look forward to welcoming you into the Tailwinds Family. (^^) June's Braai will be on the 15th. (!!)

Your First Beer will be on me. (^^)

Postby mulderpm » Sat May 18, 2013 7:30 am

ME 109 wrote:Hi Microlanders,
Currently in Brazil but will be doing my flight test)
No, excuse Andries. There are daily flights to and from Brazil. :lol:

You are most welcome to join us. Hope all goes well. See you at the next one and before (^^)