THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."routing for the tower"

Postby Bundy » Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:23 am

Potties would be great....but why dont we do a trip to Elands Camp.....

Potties is 109 NM "straight" line distance from ML on Google Earth routing via Savannah Airstrip.
This is not a problem for Bugwar/BeanCounter in the Rapter/Cobra but DBP does 43MPH IAS in current set up...thats roughly 2.93 hours flying time in no wind..... :wink:

Elands Camp is 70NM from ML.....better option if you ask me. But hey, you guys decide. Dont forget that the 13th Oct is the Misasa Fly in and AGM at FAKT... (^^)
Bateleur

Postby Bateleur » Wed Aug 08, 2012 1:02 pm

I think Potties will be a great expedition. It is far, but if we have a few Aquilla’s flying together, the faster planes can go ahead. It is an open invitation to everyone, and I think we should group together so that no one flies alone. We can discuss what weekend we do it. I agree with Bugwar, lets do it after the school holidays in October.

Bundy’s option of going to Eland Camp is also awesome. The Potties guys can meet us there. Up to you?

If it ends up that only two people go, so be it, we go! But I think if we plan it a bit in advance, we should get a few people there.

We go big! Limpopo Tietie Dancers and all!! Kan julle reel Astrix en Nicow?? puff :twisted: :lol: :lol:
Stef Oosthuizen
Step it up a notch!!
ZU DBP

Postby mulderpm » Wed Aug 08, 2012 2:15 pm

What about Ntokoso. Tribal Croc's place. It is 111 miles from ML. (^^) A fly away, anywhere, as a group is still the most fun. Lets just organise it. (^^)

I had my old Aeros prop balanced with 5g & 8g in two of the blades. Thias was done by carefully injecting, accurately measured amounts of resin into the tips of the holow blades. In the balancer she is now 3mm from horizontal where she was 3cm from horizontal on the wost (8g) blade. I re-fitted the prop on AMH on Sunday and test run the engine (static). The wabble and vibration is gone (static). =D* Hope to fly her soon for the dynamic test but the WX is not playing along. ':- Hans recons if she is good static, dynamic will be good. -0< Proof of the pud... as they say -0<

Waiting for my re-conditioned Air Magic Chatter Box from Paul. Should have it next week. =D*

Bundy, WTF is Elands Camp?? s027

And Bugwar,...as for your flying in the snow..Cold ** is ok...Wind is not so ok...snow is no go. -xX Don't tel me you actually flew on Tuesday morning??

(^^) (^^)

Postby Bundy » Wed Aug 08, 2012 2:50 pm

Hi Paul,

Elands Camp is near Marble hall, dont have the coordinates right now. (cant seem to open Google Earth on my pc...connection screwed or something). It belongs to Blue Max. Have a look at his Avatar...the coordinates are on there I think or Google the damn thing...haha.

Has some very beautiful flying areas around towards the SE...Loskop, Groblersdal river valley....etc.

I think BW was being sarcastic? I was at FAKT at 11 am for a meeting yesterday....was gusting 18knts by then, didnt snow till later though. Did anyone get some pics of ML in the snow? My mates plot is 1 mile north and they had quite a bit lying on the ground. (^^)
Bateleur

Postby Bateleur » Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:11 pm

We can fly to where ever, but it all started with the guys from Potties starting their thread like ours. We where thinking of a get together between us here in PTA and JNB and Potties. That is why we talked about flying to Potties. We can actually fly anywhere and everyone meets up there.

Are you flying tomorrow morning Paul? I will be going to ML if the weather allows.
Stef Oosthuizen
Step it up a notch!!
ZU DBP
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:37 pm

The Rhino guys are coming to Potties probably in September - no dates finalised yet. Once finalised - join in with the Rhino guys!

(Daar sal skaapribbetjie wees... vhpy vhpy )

Postby Bundy » Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:13 pm

However..whatever....as long as we hook up somewhere along the line. I leave it in your hands guys. (!!)

Goodbye till next week....Van Reenen has been re opened so we are off to go freeze our nuts off in Umslanga Rocks for a few days. Fly safe boys, hope the weathers great for flying over the weekend. Don't do anything I wouldnt do..... and if you do.....take picture's! :lol: :lol:

Later mense. 8)
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:43 pm

:roll:
Last edited by Asterix on Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Asterix

:oops: double posting..
Last edited by Asterix on Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Asterix

..And I am left to freeze my nuts of tomorrow morning! Aaag well, should be nice, smooth, and crystal icy clear. Light tailwinds predicted for my 115 mile flight.

Should be having coffee at Kokoriba around 08h30 - 09h30, depending on take off time and actual speed...The Yellow Cobra is filled to the brim, and Backseat loaded. vhpy vhpy .

Attire tomorrow will include - over and above the normal flightsuit - denim, Rugbykouse, sweater en windbreaker, neckwarmer en handskoene. ( en ek vlieg nie SOMMER met handskoene nie.... :roll: :roll: )

Sal maar land op Nylstroom / Warmbad as ek nie meer die PTT kan raakdruk nie.... (**) (**) Ons babas wat op Standerton grootgeword het, het in elk geval 'n hogere toleransie vir die koue! vhpy

Postby mulderpm » Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:30 am

BATELEUR wrote:
Are you flying tomorrow morning Paul? I will be going to ML if the weather allows.
Hi Stef, I am not promissing anything until I have test flown my balanced prop. Gaan nie weer n' trip abort nie ##

Didn't go to ML yesterday. :( WX for this weekend also does not look good :( . Ek begin al weer bewe..need my fix. (^^)

Alan, enjoy your trip to the coast. Warmer than here, I am sure. :wink:

Postby Tailspin » Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:41 am

Bundy wrote:Hi Paul,

Elands Camp is near Marble hall, dont have the coordinates right now. (cant seem to open Google Earth on my pc...connection screwed or something). It belongs to Blue Max. Have a look at his Avatar...the coordinates are on there I think or Google the damn thing...haha.

Has some very beautiful flying areas around towards the SE...Loskop, Groblersdal river valley....etc.

I think BW was being sarcastic? I was at FAKT at 11 am for a meeting yesterday....was gusting 18knts by then, didnt snow till later though. Did anyone get some pics of ML in the snow? My mates plot is 1 mile north and they had quite a bit lying on the ground. (^^)
Can the Chain Gang Join :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:
Bateleur

Postby Bateleur » Fri Aug 10, 2012 11:22 am

Hi TAILSPIN. The Chain Gang has no choice, they have to jion!!

Paul, Ja, the WX looks shocking for this weekend. We might get a gap tomorrow morning though. If it looks ok, I will be at ML tomorrow morning.

Flew yesterday morning. It was perfect until about 9am.
Stef Oosthuizen
Step it up a notch!!
ZU DBP

Postby Bundy » Mon Aug 13, 2012 6:31 am

mulderpm wrote: Alan, enjoy your trip to the coast. Warmer than here, I am sure. :wink:
Thanks Paul...was lekker. Yip MUCH warmer than here, been living in board shorts and a t shirt for the last few days. :lol:

Couldnt manage to squeeze in a trip to Ballito for a flip....too much beer guzzelling and festive cheer (^^)
We were staying right behind Virginia Airfield, geez that looks like a busy little strip! Had the sweet sound of Avgas burning all day. (!!)

Why do these holidays always seem too short?....really struggling for motivation this morning! :wink:

Dont forget guys....Fly and Braai at ML this Saturday (^^) Hoping for some lekker weather, got about 4 PAX I need to try and get airbourne. (!!)

Postby mulderpm » Tue Aug 14, 2012 1:45 pm

Bundy wrote: Dont forget guys....Fly and Braai at ML this Saturday (^^) Hoping for some lekker weather, got about 4 PAX I need to try and get airbourne. (!!)
We will be there, Alan. (^^) You got 6 PAX now. =D* Don't know about the "fly" part. WX looks bad until Sunday. Regardless, we will be there. (^^)

Test flew the balanced prop this morning. She is good. =D* ML was deserted though, only one other guy flying (he is in the hangar next to yours, owns two trikes). I suppose the -2°C wind did not attract a crowd. **

Asked Air Magic for a black unit. This means a delay of a couple of days. Don’t mind, current system works.

See you Saturday...what must we bring? (^^)