Whats up in microlighting??? Zebula invite from thatch

Thatchman

Re: Whats up in microlighting??? Are events dying??

Postby Thatchman » Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:41 pm

I have a suggestion in the interests of creating comraderie and a cheap away trip with free accommodation but can only unfortunately sleep 12. (8 beds and four on the floor).

Details as follows:

Zebula estate - 90 miles north of Jhb
In Friday afternoon 25 Nov or Sat 26 Nov. Out Sun 27 Nov
Bring dop and chop for braai
Booking on a first response basis on this thread
Limited to max two pilots from each airfield so we can get coverage
No pax unfortunately
Open to anybody from any field with any aircraft

Please respond with your name and airfield.

I will start:

Reilly - Rietfontein
Last edited by Thatchman on Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dish » Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:42 pm

Chris (DISH) - Aeroden vhpy - great offer Thatch - thanks booi vhpy

Postby nicow » Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:47 pm

Tribal Croc wrote:Dish verstaan nou vir my f*kk%n mooi if you see me in my Aquilla and you are in that Bantam thingie doing hammer heads you land and watch a real plane fly :wink: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
=D* =D* =D* =D* =D* =D* =D* =D* (^^)
nico@limpopoflightschool.co.za

Postby Dish » Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:50 pm

OHHHH Nicow choina - You missed the humour on that one. Was a standing joke between Croc and Dish in Numbi --- VERSTAAN MY NOU F&^%^&%$^$% MOOI

Postby Big-D » Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:53 pm

Sounds lekker

Look forward to it

Thatchman

Postby Thatchman » Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:12 pm

Sorry Dave I forgot about the claw but you can still borrow mine. I will just borrow some from one of my fellow hanger-mates who will wake up too late to crack the nod vhpy

bobthebuilder

Postby bobthebuilder » Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:13 pm

I'm not really into the whole social thing, and often fly alone.
For longer trips, I usually leave a map showing my route under the wiper blades of my car along with contact numbers.
Byron Kirkland
Alpha

Postby Alpha » Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:23 pm

Thatchman wrote:I have a suggestion in the interests of creating comraderie and a cheap away trip with free accommodation but can only unfortunately sleep 12. (8 beds and four on the floor).

Details as follows:

Zebula estate - 90 miles north of Jhb
In Friday afternoon 18 Nov or Sat 19 Nov. Out Sun 20 Nov
Bring dop and chop for braai
Booking on a first response basis on this thread
Limited to max two pilots from each airfield so we can get coverage
No pax unfortunately
Open to anybody from any field with any aircraft

Please respond with your name and airfield.

I will start:

Reilly - Rietfontein
I Think this is a great idea...

Count me in..

Gary aka Alpha - Kliprivier

Been trying to get to some fly inns but time and a few technical issue always cropped up.

As for the get together that Dish suggested, I am for it, I live on the east rand and there is an awesome pub just of atlas road in Bonaero Park called the Crew Room...Anyone from the east, north, west or south keen on maybe having a standing 1 night per month get together? (^^) Prices are reasonable and with us there the atmosphere will just be elevated to an even better high.

Anyone keen??? (^^)

Thatchman

Postby Thatchman » Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:38 pm

Ok the one and only date change to the next weekend which is 25/26/27 Nov to accommodate Dave Conroy.

Gary I hope this is ok for you.

So far:

Riet - me
Aeroden - Dish and Dave (Aeroden full)
Klip - Alpha

Tribal Croc

Postby Tribal Croc » Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:42 pm

Great idea Thatchman (^^)

In the interest of getting more people to fly in and stay over I/we will drive in for the braai and dop Friday and fly in Saturday morning and fly out the afternoon.

So – Tribal Croc & Akkedis - Ntokozo
Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here

#exploringsouthafricanskies

Postby Big-D » Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:53 pm

Ok the one and only date change to the next weekend which is 25/26/27 Nov to accommodate Dave Conroy.
Yipeee vhpy vhpy

Thanks boet, really appreciate it - I am there like a bear :wink:
pietmeyer

Postby pietmeyer » Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:01 pm

In our club things are just as quiet. We used to be at least 5 to 6 regulars but now down to 3. Dish, how about we organize our own trips from Ingwe and then on to Kokoriba or even Rhino. We must get Ingwe and Aeroden guys to team up and then fly as we are close. This weekend looks like kak weather again. I guess that also has a factor to play the last 6 weeks (**)
Piet Meyer
Jabi J400 ZU-DUU (Wonderboom)
skybound®

Postby skybound® » Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:04 pm

Dish wrote:Can I be VERY Direct?? do you think in any way shape of form that it has to do with the type of machine one flies. Eg Birds of a feather?? I know the bantamites are very strong in the Brits area but for a while now even we havent done much "together" flying.... i look at aeroden and the okes that are active are me, DH, BIG D, Taillie, Ian and Neale.. at best.... there are plenty of planes there that just stand, month to month.. ??? - could it be that theres a segregation developing based on faster or slower machineS?? because thats not Microlighting as i know it.... I know im slow and i know the faster ones will always orbit or accomodate me in the interest of flying with our mates..? dunno boys, i just WANNA FLY with herds of mates again ?!!
Nah - dont think it is machine related, or if it is - it is machine AND geographical location. If you look to the Eastern and Southern Cape our clubs are pretty much meshing together all forms of avaiation. In fact we have an event to celebrate this fact on 5 November - as advertised in the Events Section. Sadly there appears to be very little response so far from the micro fraternity and we are ending up with more bigger tin people attending.

Postby Dish » Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:12 pm

Yeah I hope its not machine related. They way I remember the fraternity was one of could give a cr@p whats flown, so long as okes were in the air (and looking after) each other on route to wherever. - So mainly from the responses its largely attributed to lack of bucks?? Which for big flyaways is understandable as the costs mount quickly

SOO related question

Is anyone noticing a distinct drop in NORMAL weekend flying activity - like just patch flying ??

Postby Air Hog » Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:35 pm

Dish wrote:Is anyone noticing a distinct drop in NORMAL weekend flying activity - like just patch flying ??
Hi Dish
Read my first post on this thread. Massive drop over the last 3 years. We have a Fly and Braai every first Friday of the month. Fly the late afternoon and Braai and Hanger talk afterwards. We are down from 20-30 okes to 4-7 on a Friday Braai. We sms everyone as reminders and we have tried various things to revive it but no joy.

We have close to 50 Aeries that hanger at Kroon of which now a days less than 10 are active.

But like some of the guys said, I believe the economics are killing us slowly.