LAP EN PYP, DRAADKARRE, GRASSNYERS
- BONZAI BELL
- I hate turbulence
Re: LAP EN PYP, DRAADKARRE, GRASSNYERS
Die kind is toe nie so slim as wat jy gedink het nie , Paul.
ZU-EOL
Magni M-22
Magni M-22
- John Boucher
..... and so enters the the advancing blades to the thread

A Bushcat is Born - CH 211 C "Super Excited"

Hi all,
@ Blue Max... Haha, that kid would recognise a trike pilot anywhere chom, the reason being we are normally dressed up like an eskimo!
I too have experienced this "attitude" from other pilots before. It infuriates me no end but I have learnt to ignore it now. I had the pleasure of taking up a CPL (helicopter and fixed wing) pilot the other day with close on 4500 hrs Total. It was quite funny as I was pretty nervous of what he would say/comment on. Pre flight checks done and in no time we were "tearing" down JAG's "rumble" strip, rotated as per norm and this guy was Oooing and Aaahing like a first timer! Climbed up to a safe height and promptly gave him the controls. It took him a while to get the hang of it but he flew himself for about 30min or so and as someone said earlier, I had to ask for my controls back! haha. He did make one comment that stuck with me for a while when he said "This is as close to the Wright Brothers as we can get."
What most of these uneducated okes dont get(the CPL mentioned above was definately not one of them) is that there is actually a hell of a lot more to flying a trike/3 axis microlight than you think. They have their own unique characteristics and challenges and yes... you have to be a real pilot to fly one!
I have never experienced such a good camerraderie between fellow pilots as I have in the Microlighting circle. Everyone, even the guys in the 1000 hrs and more club is more than willing to have a good chat next to a runway, share stories or give friendly advice and encouragement. We are a pretty approachable and friendly crowd, and if that makes me an "inferior pilot" in other peoples eyes, then stuff them! I LOVE BEING A MICROLIGHT PILOT!!!!!!
@ Blue Max... Haha, that kid would recognise a trike pilot anywhere chom, the reason being we are normally dressed up like an eskimo!
I too have experienced this "attitude" from other pilots before. It infuriates me no end but I have learnt to ignore it now. I had the pleasure of taking up a CPL (helicopter and fixed wing) pilot the other day with close on 4500 hrs Total. It was quite funny as I was pretty nervous of what he would say/comment on. Pre flight checks done and in no time we were "tearing" down JAG's "rumble" strip, rotated as per norm and this guy was Oooing and Aaahing like a first timer! Climbed up to a safe height and promptly gave him the controls. It took him a while to get the hang of it but he flew himself for about 30min or so and as someone said earlier, I had to ask for my controls back! haha. He did make one comment that stuck with me for a while when he said "This is as close to the Wright Brothers as we can get."

What most of these uneducated okes dont get(the CPL mentioned above was definately not one of them) is that there is actually a hell of a lot more to flying a trike/3 axis microlight than you think. They have their own unique characteristics and challenges and yes... you have to be a real pilot to fly one!

I have never experienced such a good camerraderie between fellow pilots as I have in the Microlighting circle. Everyone, even the guys in the 1000 hrs and more club is more than willing to have a good chat next to a runway, share stories or give friendly advice and encouragement. We are a pretty approachable and friendly crowd, and if that makes me an "inferior pilot" in other peoples eyes, then stuff them! I LOVE BEING A MICROLIGHT PILOT!!!!!!

I have never experienced such a good camerraderie between fellow pilots as I have in the Microlighting circle. Everyone, even the guys in the 1000 hrs and more club is more than willing to have a good chat next to a runway, share stories or give friendly advice and encouragement. We are a pretty approachable and friendly crowd, and if that makes me an "inferior pilot" in other peoples eyes, then stuff them!
SPOT ON
SPOT ON

- John Boucher
Ahhhhhhhh.... and it is such a tight circle too - Your old trike is now hangared next to my plane in Mossel Bay!
Maybe you understand my kind words now
it's sort off someone knows someone who knows someone scenario!!!! 
Maybe you understand my kind words now

Now why did you tell me that John? I am still getting over my loss. At least she is in good hands with Louis (fantastic person).
- John Boucher
Don't worry sir.... I'll keep a good lookout for your "baby"!

Thanks John. I might be flying to Mossel Bay sometime this week with a friend in a Piper. It would be a privelage to meet you in person.
- John Boucher
Give me a heads up and we'll have cold one at the clubhouse... 

Great will do. This is true aviation spirit 

- Passed radio course
Indeed I am "fyn gevoelig" because other people is important to me. I have been brought up to do or not, to do to other people what I would like to or not to be done to me. So strutting around and saying and doing derogatory things to other pilots/people is not part of my make up. And why does this always happen when some people/pilots think they are better because they think they have more money. In this case Flying a 310 and not a Windlass Lap en Pyp!!! I'ts the old story of being intoxicated by the exuberence of one's own self-esteem
"Those who trample on other people will be trampled upon too"
It's great to know there are genuine good guys out there who are proud Lap en Pyp, Plastic and Hout flyers!!!!
I also agree that there are a lot of good and decent Blik pilots out there too, that share a common interest n.l. for the love of Flying.
"Those who trample on other people will be trampled upon too"

It's great to know there are genuine good guys out there who are proud Lap en Pyp, Plastic and Hout flyers!!!!

I also agree that there are a lot of good and decent Blik pilots out there too, that share a common interest n.l. for the love of Flying.

- John Boucher
Or totally the lack of self esteem.... which thus reflects in the disrespect shown to others!It's the old story of being intoxicated by the exuberance of one's own self-esteem
Somebody (from our local airfield) said to me the other day after we had landed at Oudtshoorn - en is hierdie kak dingetjie joune (referring to my Cheetah)! Yes I replied proudly... thinking to myself - it's lekker when you sit as pax/co-pilot in an aerie that does not belong to you and burns a cool 88 litres and hour! Shame, I thought - what a small world you live in

I tend to be quite an assertive person and fast off the handle... however, you'll never be able to convince the masses otherwise until they have experienced the fun themselves and then you'll still get the twat that scoffs at you! Their loss....

- Passed radio course
Couldn't agree more!!!
- Dish
Thats particularly poor form.... insulting a guys plane is like insulting his wife/girlfriend.... you just do not do it. I remember an incident a few years ago at an airfield where someone commented on someone elses gyro by saying thats a K** Plane. The oke almost got his teeth handed to him in a pick and pay bag.... point is if you cant say something nice, dont say anything at all, someone, no matter who, has taken the time, effort and cash to purchase whatever and he will no doubt be proud of both his/her machine and his ability to fly it.... telling him its "k**" is just offsides and deserves a rfs.....

Ja Ja - the toes you trample on on your way up the ladder are the same one ones that kick you ass on the way down."Those who trample on other people will be trampled upon too"
Aquilla the Hun