Re: Pilot's and biker's

Postby AndyG » Wed May 05, 2010 3:06 pm

xt5002.jpg
XT500 Enduro
xt5002.jpg (4.09 KiB) Viewed 6396 times

My first was a Kawasaki AE50. I used to work weekends in my future in laws video shop and I saved up my money and imported the AE80 engine kit. I also bought a second hand AR gearbox. I had the hottest "50" in town. Ran away from everything.

Then had various motox bikes. Would love to get another bike just to potter around on on weekends.

Postby John Boucher » Wed May 05, 2010 3:36 pm

Low Level.... Now I know your age sir.... round about the 45/46's! I bought a MB100 engine from the scrapyard and built the MB50's gearbox over (6 as opposed to 4 speed all down much better!) Cut the mounting hole off the head to fit into the MB50 frame.... built a tuned pipe for the monster and boy I was flying! No one wanted to dice me! :P

Spot on Falcon... what an awesome day to see a local chap on local stock machinery mix it up with Freddie! Freddie won the 500 race. Francois Balde took the 250 race....

Postby Big-D » Wed May 05, 2010 3:56 pm

All this talk of MB's, MBX's and RD350's has me feeling nostalgig. Even my touring bike will klap a RD350 one-time today but somehow that red and white beast was the ultimate ride in my eyes years ago (!!)

To the RD350 and even better RZ500 (^^)

Postby John Boucher » Wed May 05, 2010 8:12 pm

Hey John
I wanted black but they only had white. Was on a four day pass from 7 SAI so could'nt wait. The salesman still wanted to show me were the kick start was and ignition switch and i was out the door already. Saw on the back of my army pass book were i entered the fuel consumption that i was getting 14.7L per 100 km at 130kmh . Must look for fotos and scan them. Was that the day Freddie won on the 250 and 350. I think it was Mario Radermeyer that gave him stick that day. Lekker day's
I have been browsing the archives....

1983 Kyalami.....

A few South Africans took part that day. The likes of Robbie Petersen (Dave's brother) and Mario Rademeyer and of course our own world champion of the time Jon Ekerold (350cc)! That was also the first year the classes were split up and leaving the 350cc class behind. They had some serious 50cc & 125cc bikes in that time but did not race at Kyalami. Eddie Lawson had by that time left the AMA circuit and was also bombing around the circuit on a 500. and was also to be seen. My lifelong hero - Barry Sheene was also to be seen on the day! I had the privilege of seeing the real Eddie Lawson bike race in action that time as well. Neither Freddie or Mario completed the race but Mario made his presence known and jump started his international career 1984.

The famous tussle between Freddie Spencer & Mario Rademeyer took place at Kyalami in 1985. It was just awesome with the German Anton Mang that came and pissballed the show! Mario ended up in third! Robbie also raced that day but think about our own Russel Wood (SA 600cc champ) that did his best and came stone last!

Man that was just such a great time in my life....

Man the RZ500 was just a mean boney yet not popular! Lets one think of the Suzuki GT750 3 cylinder Water Pumper - It sent shivers down the spine of any DKW....

Postby The Agent » Wed May 05, 2010 9:20 pm

I just help maintane and keep this one on the track, no way me not race that machine leave it my youngest.
DSC_0075-1.JPG
DSC_0075-1.JPG (85.35 KiB) Viewed 6372 times
falconp1

Postby falconp1 » Wed May 05, 2010 9:23 pm

HI John.
Can't remeber which race this was . [ first foto ] Was'nt it the last day Sheen took part in a GP. That's Freddie and Roberts on the bakkie. Can't remember who the third guy was. Was it Lucky . [foto 3 ] Freddie Spencer.
img119.jpg
img120.jpg
img118.jpg
Last edited by falconp1 on Wed May 05, 2010 9:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11
freddievanrooyen@yahoo.com

Postby AndyG » Wed May 05, 2010 9:30 pm

It was just awesome with the German Anton Mang that came and pissballed the show! Mario ended up in third! Robbie also raced that day but think about our own Russel Wood (SA 600cc champ) that did his best and came stone last!

I was at high school with Russel Wood, he used to always arrive on Mondays at school with many bandages or an arm in a sling. We used to call him crash and burn!! Trevor crookes his rival(SA) was also at our school at the same time.

Cheers,
falconp1

Postby falconp1 » Thu May 06, 2010 9:12 am

The Agent wrote:I just help maintane and keep this one on the track, no way me not race that machine leave it my youngest.
Howzit Agent.
My brother did that for me for many year's. Have the best memories of us tooling around the country with the bike in the back of the van. We are very close because of it. Never really thanked him for that. Played such an important part.
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11
falconp1

Postby falconp1 » Thu May 06, 2010 9:31 am

AndyG wrote:
The attachment xt5002.jpg is no longer available

My first was a Kawasaki AE50. I used to work weekends in my future in laws video shop and I saved up my money and imported the AE80 engine kit. I also bought a second hand AR gearbox. I had the hottest "50" in town. Ran away from everything.

Then had various motox bikes. Would love to get another bike just to potter around on on weekends.
Howzit Andy. This is a foto of my mate Nick Westcott and his XT500. 1982. Was his first bike. Bought it with his klaarout pay. He love'd it so much that he bought the new 550 when it arrived. That's my RD350LC
img124.jpg
img125.jpg
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11
falconp1

Postby falconp1 » Thu May 06, 2010 10:08 am

Low Level wrote:
falconp1 wrote:The one and only Kawa I owned was a Lawson replica KZ1000R back in the early 80's.
Geez I loved the Lawson replica , colours and cut seat. At that stage I couldn't afford it, but I had a 1000J which I bought for R 300 on auction - my brother who did customized sprayjobs - converted to a Lawson replica. :lol:

Later on I got hold of a pranged ZX 1100, so I converted the J to monoshock and a full fairing - black. In '85 I got hold of a turbocharged 1000 ST, so the turbo gets stripped, 1000J crank welded, Wiseco pistons and voila my first 250 km/h + motorbike. Never knew the top speed, but it was geared for 280 km/h. Did a 247 km/h on Tarlton 800m. In those days they ran from the bottom through the traps and used the drag strip for slowing down.

As wobbly as the J was at 200 km/h, the stable it was at 250 with the shock and fairing conversion.
falconp1 wrote:The foto of your wife look,s like somewhere in ET. Paradise rallye. Best rally of the year, because of the twisties.
Yip, :wink: when the paradise was still at Numbi, Hazyview - 1999. Those days we went to ET about once in two months - camped at Pilgrims rest and spent the whole day between Graskop, Hazyview and Sabie - man those roads :mrgreen: :mrgreen: .
John Boucher wrote:I started out on a Honda MB50.....
That was one of biggest biking mistakes in my life. I started off on a Honda SS 50 which I bought in boxes and build it up. When I turned 16 the MB and MT 50 were just launched and I sold the SS 50. I was selling Transvaler newspapers to the miners - grew up in Orkney - in the morning and delivering the Vaderland in the afternoon to buy meself a decent bike. My dad the - wise one - advised me to buy the MB 100. Why buy a 50 if you can get a 100 for the exact same price - R 699.00. vhpy I followed his advise and missed out on all the dicing with the Suzuki RG 50's and later the Kawa AR 50 :? , and being a small town the cops knew us on our first names, so I was ducking cops the whole time. ##

But still the best times of ones life - the 50 days.

My biking history:
Honda SS 50
Honda MB 100
Kawasaki Z 250 when I came to varsity in Pretoria.
Kawasaki Z 900 - with spokes. :lol:
Kawasaki 1000 J - later converted to monoshock and turbocharged.
Kawasaki GPz 750 B2
Suzuki GSX 1100 :oops: - for about 3 months - got it at a bargain price
Kawasaki ZX 1100
Yamaha Jog 50 - my scooter days started. 8) Lekka roundabout in Pretoria.
'93 - Moved to Arnot power station near Middelburg and bought a Honda Lead 50 scooter to commute between the village and the power station and a Yamaha FZR 750 to see my GF in Pretoria.
In '96 back in Pretoria - Kawasaki ZX 1100
Kawasaki ZX 900 - '84 model - the first Ninjas
' 97 Kawasaki ZX 900 - D model - my first serious superbike and seriously expensive. Fortunately no wife, so I could spent my whole salary on a bike and beer. (^^)
' 99 Kawasaki ZX 900 - B2 - the one with my wife. Was sadly written off at 60 km/h. :(
2001 Kawasaki ZX 900 - B2
2004 Kawasaki ZX 10 R. Sold because of high mileage, but bought the exact same - cause I LOVE this bike.
2004 Kawasaki ZX 10 R
Recently went through an Eagle wing 125 scooter and then 150 Jonway Scooter for commuting. Chinese stuff don't last. 7000 km and they are scrap.
Bought a Vespa 200 for commuting - ex Lancet deliveries - 75 000 km on the clock - and it is perfect running order. Now I'm saving the Kawa a bit for the seeerious fun and the odd trip to work when in the mood, or have a bit further to travel. :wink:

Howzit Low Level.

I feel like a real box this morning. I completely forgot that that i built up a Z 1300. Always wanted one but could only find a bike in bit's. Drove around the country looking for parts. Landed up with a better than new bike. My brother inlaw bought it from me. Still has it today.
img114.jpg
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11

Postby John Boucher » Thu May 06, 2010 2:19 pm

Barry Sheene's last race was in 1984 at the San Marino Grand Prix. For those who don't know, he was an avid aviator flying his own chopper!

The other chap on the bakkie was Ron Haslam - the oke with the serious side burns. He always did well at the Isle of Man races with the likes of Joey Dunlop and of course in the Endurance Race series (Suzuka 8hr etc.)
SA Grand Prix 1983 - 500cc
1st - Freddie Spencer
2nd - Kenny Roberts
3rd - Ron Haslam

One just has to love the sound of a Kawasaki KZ1300!!!!!!
Nacho
Survived second engine out

Postby Nacho » Thu May 06, 2010 3:07 pm

What else do you do if you cant fly over the weekend??? Love my toys :-)

Maybe we should start a Microligting bike club. For all Microligting bikers. Can do breakfast runs to Magalies, Harties etc etc, and catch up on everything over a cup of coffee early Sunday or Saturday mornings, when the weather isnt all that good for flying. (^^)

Had to sell my Fireblade and just got a Transalp XL700, so I can reach my hanger on the dirt road, just on the other side of Lanseria. Lifes good!
Drakenburg Trip.jpg
Drakensburg Trip
Flash.jpg
WvB aka Nacho
wvbosch@gmail.com
ZU-FFS (-)

Postby Low Level » Thu May 06, 2010 3:59 pm

John Boucher wrote:Low Level.... Now I know your age sir.... round about the 45
:lol: :wink:
John Boucher wrote:6 as opposed to 4 speed all down much better!
I was still a bit green when I pulled that red MB100 from the garage. Wroooom off in the sunset, just to come back 10 min later to tell the salesman the gearbox doens't want to select up to second. After investigation on the engine cover to discover the rest of the gears are also down. :oops: :oops:
John Boucher wrote:Man the RZ500 was just a mean boney yet not popular!
It was moer of an expensive if I remember correctly - unfortunately.
AndyG wrote:I was at high school with Russel Wood, he used to always arrive on Mondays at school with many bandages or an arm in a sling.
Spoke to guy the other day who knew Ru$$ell well. He said what made the guy a great racer. He never crashed, in his head. After a fall, he got up on the bike, and was immediately as fast as before the fall.
falconp1 wrote:I feel like a real box this morning. I completely forgot that that i built up a Z 1300. Always wanted one but could only find a bike in bit's. Drove around the country looking for parts. Landed up with a better than new bike. My brother inlaw bought it from me. Still has it today.
All I can say is :-(-( . To me one of the all time classics.
My nephew had one, and on our one trip to the Rhino rally in Christiana we had a beer in the Leeudoringstad hotel. Me and my wife on the ZX 900 and he and his wife on the 1300. I thought I'm gonna spoil him a bit and offered him the ZX for the remainder of the trip. In Christiana my wife refused to come back on the back of the 900. :? She wanted the Gomma Gomma with the nice sound. 8)
John Boucher wrote:The other chap on the bakkie was Ron Haslam - the oke with the serious side burns.
...and now his laaitie is making seeeerious kak in the WSBK. My naamgenoot. :wink:

Postby John Boucher » Fri May 07, 2010 8:41 am

Hey Low Level....

The Rhino at Christiana was my playing ground! Did many a wheelie with the TL down the main road on the Saturday jol in town vhpy

Was young and seriously "(w)reckless" in that time. I remember certain sad things from different Rhino's there....

Spectator breaking his neck and dying after falling through the sidewalk roof at Ellerines I think it was! :(
The oke with his Blackbird wiping out into the row of bikes and the end of the road (ESS Toyota side) :(
The crash at the entrance to the rally site when some oke turned in front of a rider with his Landrover :(
The head on collision with trike at the turn off to Christiana :(
A friend of mines KX250 being stolen :(

I also saw that a TL could fit a bottle of Red Heart, 2 litre Coke and a vacuum packed Rump Steak, some Biltong and space for a toothbrush, toothpaste, 2 underpants & last but not least..... 2 T-Shirts in the dicky :lol: Must admit I travelled light in that time! (^^)
Nacho

Postby Nacho » Fri May 07, 2010 8:52 am

Like with flying, bottle and throttle is a deadly mix.

Getting hurt with dop in you is inevitable.

WvB aka Nacho
wvbosch@gmail.com
ZU-FFS (-)