ZA - NAM 2011: VULTURE SQUADRON

Asterix

Re: ZA - NAM 2011: VULTURE SQUADRON

Postby Asterix » Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:06 pm

Sodwana. Leaving tomorrow for Standerton. At last a very weak 3g signal. Some pics
Almar - wet Asterix and Geel Kerneels.JPG
Almar - wet Asterix and Geel Kerneels.JPG (84.26 KiB) Viewed 2384 times
Almar airstrip - exposed...JPG
Almar airstrip - exposed...JPG (54.23 KiB) Viewed 2384 times
Amfi Backpackers - Drakensberg beyond runway.JPG
Amfi Backpackers - Drakensberg beyond runway.JPG (48.01 KiB) Viewed 2384 times
Approaching Betlehem.JPG
Approaching Betlehem.JPG (49.75 KiB) Viewed 2384 times
Approaching the Tugela.JPG
Approaching the Tugela.JPG (63.93 KiB) Viewed 2384 times
Bloemhofdam.JPG
Bloemhofdam.JPG (58.92 KiB) Viewed 2384 times
Bugwar on Howick.JPG
Bugwar on Howick.JPG (77.81 KiB) Viewed 2384 times
Bugwar on Itsebe near Tugela Mouth.JPG
Bugwar on Itsebe near Tugela Mouth.JPG (70.81 KiB) Viewed 2384 times
East of Bloemhofdam.JPG
East of Bloemhofdam.JPG (82.58 KiB) Viewed 2384 times
Free State enroute to Welkom.JPG
Free State enroute to Welkom.JPG (47.5 KiB) Viewed 2384 times
Inside Francois Burger's hangar, Sodwana.JPG
Inside Francois Burger's hangar, Sodwana.JPG (77.11 KiB) Viewed 2384 times
Inside hangar Eagle Flight - drying out.JPG
Inside hangar Eagle Flight - drying out.JPG (85.56 KiB) Viewed 2384 times
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:13 pm

More..
Maak 'n jol, Sodwana.JPG
Maak 'n jol, Sodwana.JPG (78.72 KiB) Viewed 2385 times
Manzen gwenya, North of Sodwana.JPG
Manzen gwenya, North of Sodwana.JPG (82.45 KiB) Viewed 2385 times
Precautionary...JPG
Precautionary...JPG (17.28 KiB) Viewed 2385 times
Shaya moya lodge, Francois hangar below..JPG
Shaya moya lodge, Francois hangar below..JPG (58.02 KiB) Viewed 2385 times
Soddies.JPG
Soddies.JPG (64.06 KiB) Viewed 2385 times
Sterkfonteindam.JPG
Sterkfonteindam.JPG (49.56 KiB) Viewed 2385 times
Sterkfontein - approahing escarpment.JPG
Sterkfontein - approahing escarpment.JPG (51.36 KiB) Viewed 2385 times
The great guys at Light Flight.JPG
The great guys at Light Flight.JPG (91.79 KiB) Viewed 2385 times
Trikes tied down at Amfi Backpackers, Drakensberg.JPG
Trikes tied down at Amfi Backpackers, Drakensberg.JPG (75.89 KiB) Viewed 2385 times
Valley of Thousand Hills, eish....JPG
Valley of Thousand Hills, eish....JPG (65.1 KiB) Viewed 2385 times
We got lost - started for Nam, endend up here...JPG
We got lost - started for Nam, endend up here...JPG (73.37 KiB) Viewed 2385 times
Cacofonix

Postby Cacofonix » Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:20 pm

awesome! i want to have such an adventure 8) you look like a drowned rat James (!!) great pics :!: get home safe -0<
Man small...why fall?..Skies call...that's all.
ZU-EJU
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:26 pm

Okei, die sein hou nog.

Spent the morning leisurely flying around the Sodwana area in beautiful weather. We have a good collection of video footage now, but a lot of editing lies ahead. We'll post links to youtube laaater in next week.

We're on 1048 miles, with another 300 odd miles to go - back to Microland. s023

Tonight we are sleeping in Francois hangar - me literally under Geel Kerneel's wing (on a bed, mind you) Should have sweet dreams... ** **

ZA - NAM 2011: VULTURE SQUADRON

Postby John Young » Sat Apr 30, 2011 6:41 am

Asterix wrote:Here, we received the legendary "gasvryheid" from the Guys at Light FLight - Steak rolls and boeries, some cold ones, hangarspace,fuelrun, good advice and plenty of friendliness.

Kevin Friar who pops into Solo Wings from time to time did a few tweaks on my hangbolt, and again, I learned a lot about my plane.

Kevin and Dean took us to Emoyeni lodge by car - we could not fly in because of a modelplane competition going on.

To all the guys at Light Flight, you are a great bunch of people - I think I must move to KZN! (^^) xxx . And I promise I won't piss of your ATC again! :oops: :oops:
Hi Guys,

It was our pleasure to meet you two and assist. !!!!

That ATC from FAPM was amusing "East is east and west is west". vhpy vhpy vhpy No worries mate - Sakkie will sort it out.

Good luck with the rest. K@K news about Bluemax's trike. :(

John N????B
Bugwar

Postby Bugwar » Sat Apr 30, 2011 10:07 am

The Vulture Squadron is stuck in Sodwana because of a rather serious headwind. We really having it tough here in Jan Maak n Jol's bar....... (^^) (^^)
ZU-EHG - Raptor

Vulture Squadron videos
http://www.youtube.com/user/VultureSquadronZA
Tribal Croc

Postby Tribal Croc » Sat Apr 30, 2011 1:56 pm

Aha Finally xxx

Thanks for the photos (^^)

I must admit when Asterix told me about being wet I thought he was exaggerating :wink: but like they say a picture tells a 1000 words :shock:

Cool photos guys I can’t wait for the DVD ##
Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here

#exploringsouthafricanskies

Postby Blue Max » Sat Apr 30, 2011 5:54 pm

vhpy vhpy
Well done both of you.
Great Pics.
Get home safely..
Want to hear the rest of the story and more pics.!!!
Bugwar

Postby Bugwar » Sun May 01, 2011 6:51 pm

1400 miles later and I am back on terra firma. We took off from Sodwana this morning and had to do some serious flying to stay clear from the mist. James decided to stay over in Standerton for a day and should be back on Tuesday. Pics to follow later in the week.
ZU-EHG - Raptor

Vulture Squadron videos
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Sun May 01, 2011 9:05 pm

Ja, We split ways earlier - Bygwar home to Microland, I still have some leave so will spend it on my dad's far, bringing them up to date with our adventure.

Left this morning, out of Sodwana by 06h15. Nice flight over Jozini and past Pongola, although the fog coming of the Highveld loomed above. Landed Piet Retief two hours later to refuel and took of again. The ground rises to the west, with a ridge to cross before you reach the flats around Standerton / Secunda. The fog was lying on the reach - precautionary landing time!

We landed on a piece of field next to a harvested soybean field - a bit rough! We decided to check out the field itself and found it quite smooth and firm and decided to rather take of here than in the field where we landed. Taxi'd there, then stepped out the proposed take-of site when Bugwar saw six or so locals approaching. Not wanting to take chances with possible confrontations we decided to take of immediately instead of waiting out the low cloud. Airborne, we saw that we could try and route to the North, around the ridge. As we turned on the extreme northern point we got back on track again but soon rrealised that we would still end up in trouble ahead, so, we deviate to Ermelo.

About 30 minutes from landing the skies really started to open up, but a fresh Southerly started to blow. Bugwar indicated that he would rathe route straight for Microland after waiting the wind out, and I decided to stick to Standerton, wanting to see my family. I took of about 11h00 in a strongish wind, and bounced my merry way to Standerton, 50 miles, in about 40 minutes.

Time nowe to reflect on the last week or so. There has been frustration, sadness, elation, gratefulness, and a host of other emotions.

The overriding feeling however is one of ecstatic joy that one derives from the pureness and freedom of microlight flying.

A picture that is engrained into my mind is that of the two bateleurs (berghane) that came to play and fly with me for 15 seconds or so near Albert Falls. No money in the world can buy that feeling of belonging in the sky, with the creatures that call the sky "home".

Some more pics xxx xxx
Soddies is lekker!.JPG
Soddies is lekker!.JPG (68.76 KiB) Viewed 2282 times
Soddies is lekker2!.JPG
Soddies is lekker2!.JPG (70.21 KiB) Viewed 2282 times
Geel Kerneels enjoyed his coastal visit!.JPG
Geel Kerneels enjoyed his coastal visit!.JPG (68.02 KiB) Viewed 2282 times
Sodwana Microlight Services.JPG
Sodwana Microlight Services.JPG (82.72 KiB) Viewed 2282 times
Shaya Moya - 50 metres from Sodwana Microlights.JPG
Shaya Moya - 50 metres from Sodwana Microlights.JPG (81.29 KiB) Viewed 2282 times
Sunrise Sodwana.JPG
Sunrise Sodwana.JPG (48.96 KiB) Viewed 2282 times
Sleeping under the wings.JPG
Sleeping under the wings.JPG (79.47 KiB) Viewed 2282 times
Sunrise as we leave Sodwana for home.JPG
Sunrise as we leave Sodwana for home.JPG (44.07 KiB) Viewed 2282 times
Sunrise, leaving...JPG
Sunrise, leaving...JPG (50.13 KiB) Viewed 2282 times
Escarpment fog on approaching Pongola.JPG
Escarpment fog on approaching Pongola.JPG (43.75 KiB) Viewed 2282 times
Bugwar dancing with the clouds.JPG
Bugwar dancing with the clouds.JPG (39.05 KiB) Viewed 2282 times
After precautionary landing west of Piet Retief.JPG
After precautionary landing west of Piet Retief.JPG (77.45 KiB) Viewed 2282 times
Bugwar measuring out soybean field airstrip!.JPG
Bugwar measuring out soybean field airstrip!.JPG (71.85 KiB) Viewed 2282 times
On threshold for take off in harvested soybean field.JPG
On threshold for take off in harvested soybean field.JPG (65.58 KiB) Viewed 2282 times

Postby AndyG » Mon May 02, 2011 9:15 pm

Well done guys, it was an absolute pleasure meeting you okes and glad that you got back safely.

Fly safe,,

(^^) (^^)
cloud 10
Looking at the sky

Postby cloud 10 » Mon May 02, 2011 10:11 pm

Well done guys, jammer oor jou aerie Paul, hoop jy vlieg weer binnekort.
Kallie ZU-BWJ
Bugwar

Postby Bugwar » Tue May 03, 2011 12:07 pm

The actual route of the Vulture Squadron
Route_ACTUAL.JPG
ACTUAL ROUTE
ZU-EHG - Raptor

Vulture Squadron videos
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Tue May 03, 2011 3:11 pm

The last member of Vulture Squadron touched down safely at Microland just before 12h00 today. Geel Kerneels is in its hangar, wing and all pockets and zips opened up for a MAJOR wash.

Johannes, trusty custodian of ZU-DLY will be drenching him in water and soap this afternoon, then more water.

Thereafter it will be me, cans of Q20 and Silicone spray, and a painstaking post-trip cleanup and service. You won't believe the amount of salty stuff sitting on the airframe - if your aerie visited the coast - you have work! Leave the salt at the risk of your airframe rotting away! The ocean is a trike killer...

You coastal guys - any advice on proper treatments / things to look for after exposing your plane to the coastal conditions?
:idea: :idea: :idea:
Cacofonix

Postby Cacofonix » Tue May 03, 2011 6:11 pm

Welcome home
Man small...why fall?..Skies call...that's all.
ZU-EJU