Getting airborne...again

Questions about training in general, syllabus', requirements etc
Pat Two

Getting airborne...again

Postby Pat Two » Fri Nov 28, 2008 9:48 am

A little history,

My first encounter with a trike was on a cool summer afternoon on a farm in the Bloodriver district in northern KZN in 1995. Craig Cozens was training two farmers in the area. I went to their self made airfield every day. And watched and listened to the 503 blasting through the cool KZN skies. Magic...

I grew up and went to Durban in 1997, where I made an attempt to attain my MPL. My youth got the better of me and I ended up jolling out the monies that I had intended to use for my MPL. :oops: :oops: Not my proudest moment.

When I married, I was forbidden to fly microlights. I did get the opportunity to train again on fixed wing aeries on which I gathered about 30 hours. But the cost of the fixed wing flying was excessive and I had to give that up.

Now I am single, I am renewing my medical on 07/12 getting my Microlight SPL during that week, to fly my first lesson on the 13/12. Thanks to Oom Leprechaun of Rhino Park Flight School and my Boet for inspiring me to get my behind back in the air (even though it will be a little at a time).

I'm going back to my first love...Microlighting.

Look forward to sharing my journey here, if I may... :oops: :oops:
Jaco P.
Wargames

Re: Getting airborne...again

Postby Wargames » Fri Nov 28, 2008 9:55 am

(^^) (^^) (^^)

That s the best news thus far today.

Keep the news coming. Love to hear more.

NS: If you have trouble posting your pics, email them to Ross @ Iwantyourpic.com4me :wink: :wink:
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"
Pat Two

Postby Pat Two » Fri Nov 28, 2008 9:58 am

Wargames wrote:(^^) (^^) (^^)

That s the best news thus far today.

Keep the news coming. Love to hear more.

NS: If you have trouble posting your pics, email them to Ross @ Iwantyourpic.com4me :wink: :wink:
I'm cool with the pics Ross... :wink: :wink:

Cheers,
Jaco
Jaco P.
Tracer

Postby Tracer » Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:02 am

Excellent. (^^)

You won't regret it, I'm sure. Keep us posted on your progress.
Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:09 am

Enjoy and good luck.
Nuts about Cheetahs. Petit is the place.
Thermal

Postby Thermal » Fri Nov 28, 2008 11:39 am

Hallous! (!!) (!!)

Great to hear that you are going for it again. Good luck!!!

T :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Microlighting gives you wings!

ZU - ZIP (Nothing?!) yet!
johnsa

Postby johnsa » Fri Nov 28, 2008 11:55 am

blue skies :arrow:
slysi

Postby slysi » Fri Nov 28, 2008 11:56 am

I am green with envy :mrgreen: . Enjoy it :!: :wink:

btw I think Ross is addicted to posting pics on the forum
Simon
Student Pilot
Pat Two

Postby Pat Two » Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:42 am

29/11/08

Paperwork...yip, it's unavoidable. Filled in the student documentation. And had a nice hour long chat with Oom Leprechaun. He outlined what we are going to be focussing on in the weeks to come. He commented that the reverse control arrangement between a conventional aircraft and a microlight might take some getting used to. He also kindly handed me a DVD to brush up on my trike pre-flighting..very handy thank you.

Nice seeing you again Agent!

Noteable dates:
07/12 Medical Renewal
13/12 First lesson

Cheers for now,
J
Jaco P.
Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:55 am

Eish such a long time to wait for first lesson. May the time pass quickly.
Thermal

Postby Thermal » Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:57 am

Whazz up! 8)

Good luck bru! :mrgreen:

Bye (!!)

Pat Two

Postby Pat Two » Mon Dec 08, 2008 8:55 am

Pat Two wrote:29/11/08
Noteable dates:
07/12 Medical Renewal
Cheers for now,
J
Done! vhpy
Jaco P.
Thermal

Postby Thermal » Tue Dec 09, 2008 7:53 am

Well done! 8)

Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:42 pm

Just 4 sleeps to your first lesson ;-)
Pat Two

Postby Pat Two » Tue Dec 09, 2008 2:50 pm

Stephan van Tonder wrote:Just 4 sleeps to your first lesson ;-)
I am counting the days, I was up at 5am this morning (early day for work). The first thing I did was look out the window to sort of gauge what I should expect on Saturday, if this morning was any indication, it should be as smooth as silk. vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy
Jaco P.