ForensicFlyer and Softness' experience at Harties!
- ForensicFlyer
- Solo cross country
ForensicFlyer and Softness' experience at Harties!
Ok, listen very carefully to what I am going to tell you now… I wrote this from a “newbie†perspective in order to help others than may follow in my footsteps to feel the passion, experience the excitement and travel the path to a full-blown and qualified real-world PILOT! When I started “looking into†getting my license (ppl, mpl or whatever) and to get my own aerie, I decided to do some research first. So, I got onto microlighters here and started asking questions, and looking for advice. Some of the folks here will still remember my questions and requests for info… Over time, with my requests, contributions, questions, comments and remarks, a lot of folk on here became very friendly indeed and really helped a lot and contributed enormously to my “research.â€Â
So, as a result of me making new friends here among the folks here – and they are really good people and I now consider them my friends – I decided to make a point of meeting them. So, when I was due to do a business trip to Gateng-a-leng, it was decided that we would arrange an impromptu fly-in at Hartebeespoort Dam, and to ask anyone willing or interested to attend some questions in person and to see their machines. It was agreed that I would pick Dark Helmet up from home, and that we’d then shove off to the airport, so off to Harties we go on Sunday 8 October.
Now, let me tell you about the airport: What I most liked about the place was the informal attitude everyone had. We met many pilots – familiar and new. There was a cool helo pilot (more about him later), and even a 747 giant. Very cool dudes, I must tell you. The braai facilities and pub was casual but more than adequate and the weather was lovely, save for a couple of drops in the first half of the day. For the better part the wind-sock was totally lazy and hardly lifted its head to look around. So it was duly ignored and not invited to the braai. Ahhhh… The braai! I decided that it would be a good idea to have a braai (on me, of course) for anyone and everyone who was willing to fly in, drive in, crowl in, fall in, or just barge in, so we had enough meat and stuff there… Oh – and I brought my video camera and my digital camera, so there was plenty to see… Now, some of you may not know this, but the following is a photograph of the very first time I EVER stood right next to a microlight (or ultralite, trike, samoosa-bird, draadkar, or whatever you wan to call it) “in the draad and lap†as it were…
So, other than seeing one for the first time in my life other than on a trailer zipping by under a canvas on the high-way, I was not surprised by the size, shape or form, but rather by just how solid, well-engineered and “properly proportioned†it was. It was a real “plane,†and not a rickety jol. I have seen many aircraft from fixed-wing to rotary, and have flown in many, obviously including 747’s on international trips. So, the aviation “feel†was certainly not absent here. There were a couple in the hanger, so I got to see a fair few right in front of me, ranging in design and application. Some were better than others, but they were all cool…
So, having seen one (and some others) in person, which was rather exciting, I wanted to get more involved immediately. Having picked old Dark helmet up from his spot, the agreement was that there would be some maintenance done first. This was right up my alley, since I am very “hands-on†and highly technically minded, so I jumped right in and did my bit. We needed to fix the front brakes, sort out the pull-start that had jammed another time and do some other minor things. I immediately jumped in and practically took over. Helmet actually joked that it was cool since he hardly had to do anything!
Anyway, let me tell you all that this is (in my opinion) the best way to get to know aircraft. If you are fortunate enough to be mechanically-minded, have some techno-savvy thing going and can get an opportunity to get your hands dirty on an aerie, jump at the chance! There is no better way to get a “feel†for how well a vehicle is put together than to “feel the torque†and burning on the manifold. It’s fantastic. It gave me a sense of contribution and understanding that I could never have achieved unless I had this opportunity. As it stands, I value this “machine-time†the most out of all the memories of this very exciting Sunday with the boys and their machines!
Nothing beats the experience of “helping keep the thing in the air†like this!
Although I was really looking forward to actually getting to experience a flight in one of these babies, I was in no hurry whatsoever. I felt like a boy on Christmas eve who got a toy boat as a present. It’s an R/C boat and really runs on water, but there is some assembly to be done. So, your WHOLE Xmas night is spent building the boat. That building experience is the one that has the most value for you, coz YOU did it!
Anyway – before I detract – there I was… Happy as a pig in… Well, you get the idea…
So, having spent my time with the mechanical maintenance of the aerie, I already started to feel like I had a place here. Nothing was “rocket science†to me, and I was certainly not intimidated by anything I saw or worked on. An internal combustion engine, friction brakes, cables and pulleys and don’t forget about a bit of oil and grease. All stuff we’ve all seen, right?
So – having established my “credentials,†and restoring the aerie to all its former glory with Dark Helmet and Tobie assisting me (of course) with the maintenance, we were happy and it was already late afternoon. So my softness and I shot off to the local Spar to go grab some meat and dop… And man – are there hot softnessesssess there at Harties!
So, as a result of me making new friends here among the folks here – and they are really good people and I now consider them my friends – I decided to make a point of meeting them. So, when I was due to do a business trip to Gateng-a-leng, it was decided that we would arrange an impromptu fly-in at Hartebeespoort Dam, and to ask anyone willing or interested to attend some questions in person and to see their machines. It was agreed that I would pick Dark Helmet up from home, and that we’d then shove off to the airport, so off to Harties we go on Sunday 8 October.
Now, let me tell you about the airport: What I most liked about the place was the informal attitude everyone had. We met many pilots – familiar and new. There was a cool helo pilot (more about him later), and even a 747 giant. Very cool dudes, I must tell you. The braai facilities and pub was casual but more than adequate and the weather was lovely, save for a couple of drops in the first half of the day. For the better part the wind-sock was totally lazy and hardly lifted its head to look around. So it was duly ignored and not invited to the braai. Ahhhh… The braai! I decided that it would be a good idea to have a braai (on me, of course) for anyone and everyone who was willing to fly in, drive in, crowl in, fall in, or just barge in, so we had enough meat and stuff there… Oh – and I brought my video camera and my digital camera, so there was plenty to see… Now, some of you may not know this, but the following is a photograph of the very first time I EVER stood right next to a microlight (or ultralite, trike, samoosa-bird, draadkar, or whatever you wan to call it) “in the draad and lap†as it were…
So, other than seeing one for the first time in my life other than on a trailer zipping by under a canvas on the high-way, I was not surprised by the size, shape or form, but rather by just how solid, well-engineered and “properly proportioned†it was. It was a real “plane,†and not a rickety jol. I have seen many aircraft from fixed-wing to rotary, and have flown in many, obviously including 747’s on international trips. So, the aviation “feel†was certainly not absent here. There were a couple in the hanger, so I got to see a fair few right in front of me, ranging in design and application. Some were better than others, but they were all cool…
So, having seen one (and some others) in person, which was rather exciting, I wanted to get more involved immediately. Having picked old Dark helmet up from his spot, the agreement was that there would be some maintenance done first. This was right up my alley, since I am very “hands-on†and highly technically minded, so I jumped right in and did my bit. We needed to fix the front brakes, sort out the pull-start that had jammed another time and do some other minor things. I immediately jumped in and practically took over. Helmet actually joked that it was cool since he hardly had to do anything!
Anyway, let me tell you all that this is (in my opinion) the best way to get to know aircraft. If you are fortunate enough to be mechanically-minded, have some techno-savvy thing going and can get an opportunity to get your hands dirty on an aerie, jump at the chance! There is no better way to get a “feel†for how well a vehicle is put together than to “feel the torque†and burning on the manifold. It’s fantastic. It gave me a sense of contribution and understanding that I could never have achieved unless I had this opportunity. As it stands, I value this “machine-time†the most out of all the memories of this very exciting Sunday with the boys and their machines!
Nothing beats the experience of “helping keep the thing in the air†like this!
Although I was really looking forward to actually getting to experience a flight in one of these babies, I was in no hurry whatsoever. I felt like a boy on Christmas eve who got a toy boat as a present. It’s an R/C boat and really runs on water, but there is some assembly to be done. So, your WHOLE Xmas night is spent building the boat. That building experience is the one that has the most value for you, coz YOU did it!
Anyway – before I detract – there I was… Happy as a pig in… Well, you get the idea…
So, having spent my time with the mechanical maintenance of the aerie, I already started to feel like I had a place here. Nothing was “rocket science†to me, and I was certainly not intimidated by anything I saw or worked on. An internal combustion engine, friction brakes, cables and pulleys and don’t forget about a bit of oil and grease. All stuff we’ve all seen, right?
So – having established my “credentials,†and restoring the aerie to all its former glory with Dark Helmet and Tobie assisting me (of course) with the maintenance, we were happy and it was already late afternoon. So my softness and I shot off to the local Spar to go grab some meat and dop… And man – are there hot softnessesssess there at Harties!
Stan Bezuidenhout
IBF Investigations South Africa
"I'd rather have it and not need it than need it and not have it!"
- ForensicFlyer
- Solo cross country
More Pics...
While we were busy, a lekker little helo (baby Belle) cruised in and landed right there. Cool pilot. 22 Years old. Commercial Fixed and Rotary. Flies King-air’s and shit, and has FAAAAR too many credentials to my liking. At a stage I mused at killing him and eating his brains to get all his “powers.†If it works for cannibals, right?
So, the helo pilot (I think Aalwyn?) looks at me and says “What do you weigh?†I knew EXACTLY why he asked and ALMOST did the softness thing and lie through my teeth, telling him I “only weigh 75 Kg.†But that lie could cause this little chopper to dump, so I told the truth and told him I only weigh 65.. Lies! No, actually I told him the real truth - it was 106Kg. That meant no flip for me! So he asked Dark Helmet, and I am sure he DID lie, coz he got to go flip… Always knew that crime pays! Anyway – they had a TON of fun, I am sure, coz old Helmet came back all smiles!
From here, we just had some general chats and I had an opportunity to ask many questions and propose numerous different scenario’s. Oh – and I really looked all over this helo, inside and out…
So, the helo pilot (I think Aalwyn?) looks at me and says “What do you weigh?†I knew EXACTLY why he asked and ALMOST did the softness thing and lie through my teeth, telling him I “only weigh 75 Kg.†But that lie could cause this little chopper to dump, so I told the truth and told him I only weigh 65.. Lies! No, actually I told him the real truth - it was 106Kg. That meant no flip for me! So he asked Dark Helmet, and I am sure he DID lie, coz he got to go flip… Always knew that crime pays! Anyway – they had a TON of fun, I am sure, coz old Helmet came back all smiles!
From here, we just had some general chats and I had an opportunity to ask many questions and propose numerous different scenario’s. Oh – and I really looked all over this helo, inside and out…
- Attachments
- Dark helmet gets a flip!
- dh flip.jpg (85.53 KiB) Viewed 1941 times
- The little Belle...
- Heo1.jpg (98.5 KiB) Viewed 1941 times
Stan Bezuidenhout
- ForensicFlyer
- Solo cross country
Trikes arrive!
Then the day became interesting! In the distance, we noticed two silhouettes of trikes, as they approached from a distance. It was Demon, Trixie and Ratman! They gave us a spectacular impromptu show, doing some very fancy “windgat fly-by’s†as Demon calls them. That 450 really f**ks off!
I cannot even start to explain how impressive that GT-450 is! I could not believe my eyes when I saw what Demon could do with this thing – with a pax! Ok – granted, Trixie probably weighs ten kilograms and Demon is not a bear like me, but it was still impressive!
Now, don’t forget, I had JUST got my first experience of standing next to a trike, now these things were zipping by and making some really cool sounds at the same time! I fell in love… No – NOT with Trixie, I had my softness there! She’s an absolute doll and I would not trade her for ANYTHING!
So – it was really cool to see the 450 perform, but it was even BETTER to know that I am going to make new friends…
After the impressive fly-by, the guys (and lady) landed and made the introductions. What a fine crowd! I cannot rave enough about how warm, friendly and approachable everyone was. This was totally unlike what I often believed to be the attitude of some other pilots I had met. The few I have met, on a more personal note, was very nice (Brian Turner, Derrick Elliot and Alfie, Johan Akkerman and others), but those that I wasn’t friends with already were not THIS approachable!
The person of the day in my opinion was Demon! Not only because he flies a 450 and took me for a flip (which we’ll get to), but also because of his mastery of his aircraft, his confidence, his personality and his total passion for “transferring the passion for flying.â€Â
Now, don’t get me wrong, Dark Helmet set all this up and I did get to play with his toy, but Demon is another story – I’ll get to him in a bit… As far as old Darkie is concerned, he is very passionate about his sh*t… He obviously takes very good care of his aerie and he is most willing to share knowledge, ideas and concepts and happily answers ALL my questions – and I have many. Some mechanical, others aeronautical, others philosophical and others plain stupid… Be that as it may – he tolerated them well…
If ANY of you guys (seasoned and newbies) want MY opinion on whether or not you should buy this thing, it would not even be fair for me to answer. It’s just awesome. It took off with my 106Kg fram in the back with NO problems whatsoever, and handled like an Olympic ice-skating champ! Of course, it’s Demon’s mastery of the craft that possibly made it seem a lot easier than it is, but who cares – it flies like a dream. A very fast, wet one, but a dream none the less!
So – first Dark Helmet went for a flip with Demon and returned to mother earth wearing a clown’s mask I think. I am not sure, but I cannot believe a smile that big fits onto a face the size of his. Anyway – suffice it to say that he was a happy chappy!
Then it was my turn. At this stage Demon heard for the very first time that this would be my first EVER experience in a Trike, so he was quite surprised. He even said that – according to my posts – I’d been around these things for ages! Thanks Demon – that’s a compliment, coming from you…
The 450 is not only quick, slick and shiny, but it also sounds awesome! That Waaaaaaahhhhhh sound as it jumps off into the sky is absolutely super-cool! I love it! It sounds like the thing is always on the edge of stripping its moer! Like it’s under constant psychological strain and wants to say something… Then you take off and it’s allowed to say its piece! Very cool stuff! Very cool, indeed!
I cannot even start to explain how impressive that GT-450 is! I could not believe my eyes when I saw what Demon could do with this thing – with a pax! Ok – granted, Trixie probably weighs ten kilograms and Demon is not a bear like me, but it was still impressive!
Now, don’t forget, I had JUST got my first experience of standing next to a trike, now these things were zipping by and making some really cool sounds at the same time! I fell in love… No – NOT with Trixie, I had my softness there! She’s an absolute doll and I would not trade her for ANYTHING!
So – it was really cool to see the 450 perform, but it was even BETTER to know that I am going to make new friends…
After the impressive fly-by, the guys (and lady) landed and made the introductions. What a fine crowd! I cannot rave enough about how warm, friendly and approachable everyone was. This was totally unlike what I often believed to be the attitude of some other pilots I had met. The few I have met, on a more personal note, was very nice (Brian Turner, Derrick Elliot and Alfie, Johan Akkerman and others), but those that I wasn’t friends with already were not THIS approachable!
The person of the day in my opinion was Demon! Not only because he flies a 450 and took me for a flip (which we’ll get to), but also because of his mastery of his aircraft, his confidence, his personality and his total passion for “transferring the passion for flying.â€Â
Now, don’t get me wrong, Dark Helmet set all this up and I did get to play with his toy, but Demon is another story – I’ll get to him in a bit… As far as old Darkie is concerned, he is very passionate about his sh*t… He obviously takes very good care of his aerie and he is most willing to share knowledge, ideas and concepts and happily answers ALL my questions – and I have many. Some mechanical, others aeronautical, others philosophical and others plain stupid… Be that as it may – he tolerated them well…
If ANY of you guys (seasoned and newbies) want MY opinion on whether or not you should buy this thing, it would not even be fair for me to answer. It’s just awesome. It took off with my 106Kg fram in the back with NO problems whatsoever, and handled like an Olympic ice-skating champ! Of course, it’s Demon’s mastery of the craft that possibly made it seem a lot easier than it is, but who cares – it flies like a dream. A very fast, wet one, but a dream none the less!
So – first Dark Helmet went for a flip with Demon and returned to mother earth wearing a clown’s mask I think. I am not sure, but I cannot believe a smile that big fits onto a face the size of his. Anyway – suffice it to say that he was a happy chappy!
Then it was my turn. At this stage Demon heard for the very first time that this would be my first EVER experience in a Trike, so he was quite surprised. He even said that – according to my posts – I’d been around these things for ages! Thanks Demon – that’s a compliment, coming from you…
The 450 is not only quick, slick and shiny, but it also sounds awesome! That Waaaaaaahhhhhh sound as it jumps off into the sky is absolutely super-cool! I love it! It sounds like the thing is always on the edge of stripping its moer! Like it’s under constant psychological strain and wants to say something… Then you take off and it’s allowed to say its piece! Very cool stuff! Very cool, indeed!
- Attachments
- They arrive!
- arrival.jpg (77.23 KiB) Viewed 1940 times
- The first Trike Lands....
- trike 01.jpg (93.71 KiB) Viewed 1940 times
Stan Bezuidenhout
- ForensicFlyer
- Solo cross country
Others Arrive...
While Demon and Dark Helmet were making some loop-ti-loops old Thunderboy also pulled in! He’s a very nice guy, and very “reserved.†I didn’t see him suddenly exploding into a loud song or running butt naked along the full length of the runway soon, but he was still a super fellar! I really enjoyed meeting everyone – even old Big D!
So – then he parked off and watched Big D enjoy a flip with Demon…
After this it was Big D. He also came back wearing that mask that Helmet had on earlier. I needed to know what it was they were on about. From the side-line I could just SEE that it MUST be a ton of fun, and that these okes (sorry, kids) were just having a blast. So my turn came up…
So – then he parked off and watched Big D enjoy a flip with Demon…
After this it was Big D. He also came back wearing that mask that Helmet had on earlier. I needed to know what it was they were on about. From the side-line I could just SEE that it MUST be a ton of fun, and that these okes (sorry, kids) were just having a blast. So my turn came up…
- Attachments
- The Arrival!
- plane 00.jpg (77.76 KiB) Viewed 1938 times
- And there she stands!
- plane 01.jpg (98.32 KiB) Viewed 1938 times
Stan Bezuidenhout
- ForensicFlyer
- Solo cross country
Flight with Demon...
Getting into and out of a trike is a breeze – easier than you may imagine. You literally just flop in there. I got hooked up and strapped in, and donned my headset and dark glasses. Now I even looked like a pilot… OK – I looked like pax that THINKS he looks like a pilot, but you get my drift, right?
After some prepping and clearing, Demon fired the baby up… Choegga Choegga Choegga Braaaaammmm… Cool! When he power it and she starts sliding forward, you realize how easily the power of that baby can be under-estimated by the uninitiated… The 450 is NOT a simple “motorcycle of the sky…†Oh no, bubba… It’s a freaking Harley! It’s all attitude… I can just hear it… “Bad to the Bone…â€Â
So, as I was saying, Demon pulled in and we got me all strapped in and sorted out… I had to scoot back as far as possible, coz there is ONE little flaw with the 450 (or is it a flaw with me?): It wasn’t built for people that are 1,87m tall, like me! The weight was no problem, but Demon was only capable of somewhat limited flight due to my LOOONG legs posting my knees practically ahead of HIM! So, the bar would occasionally snag against those long poles of mine and thereby limit our speed a bit… He couldn’t get more than 100 mph! Pity!
We took off like a bat out of hell, but I want to first wander off into another realm a bit right here…
See, for about 25 years I was involved in various forms of Martial Arts. I trained with some local and some internationally acclaimed instructors. Now I am fatter and un-fitter and wiser, so I carry a .45 and donder long-distance… Anyway – one thing that I always admired about my instructors (sensei and shidoshi) was what it “felt†like in their presence. They ALWAYS had this quiet, powerful, graceful, poised confidence about them. Since practically all Martial Arts are contact sports (of note!) I got to “feel†the touch of my masters many times. Most of the time it involved pain, bruises, blood and near-death experiences, but be that as it may, I know their touch personally. Thse masters would always impress me (as a young artist) with how well their hands and feet could ALWAYS find the most sensitive spots on my body – they know JUST how hard to do what JUST WHERE, in order to make me cry like a cup-cake. Point is, they had an almost inhuman mastery of their interaction with other people. They could control not only a student, would-be assailant or competitor with absolute precision, but they also made it look effortless and poetic, while the opposite aikidoka (or whatever) would be punished with abandon…
I could also never get over how “strong†they feel, even when they are touching you “normally.†They are always capable of creating the impression that they are the original originators of the knowledge they share with confidence and superiority. Not the cocky arrogant type, but rather the “silent power†kind…
Now Demon… He FLIES like that! I am telling you! When I sat down behind this guy and put my hand on his shoulder to hand him his belt and give him the “all clear†that I was settled in and happy, I had IMMEDIATE flash-backs from my early Martial Arts days. Demon – in my eyes, you are a grand-master of trikes. A Shidoshi. There is a notable difference between a Sensei and a Shidoshi. A Sensei is a teacher (like in a school) while a Shidoshi is more like a guide – letting a student “experience†the teachings. I am telling you, brother – you have it! Keep it!
So – enough about Demon’s “status†lest he invites me out for dinner or thinks I am gonna propose to him… We took off like – as I said – bats out of hell…
I have read many times that people on www.microlighters.co.za call the trikes the “motorcycles of the sky,†and then they go on about how it actually feels like, well “a motorbike in the sky..†One thing NO-ONE could prepare me for is that flying in a trike actually feels more like riding a “motorbike in the sky…!â€Â
How’s it different? Let me explain: When you spool up, and run down the runway, prior to take-off, the engine sound, the wind in your face, the helmet on your head and the fact that you’re smack behind someone else makes it feel “exactly like a motorbike.†The acceleration is also part of it.
Then you lift off. I cannot put into words how good this feeling is! As soon as you lift off all the vibrations (from the tarmac) go away and you INSTANTLY lose your “normal†horizon as a point of reference… Remember – even in a double-decker bus you’re a mere 3-4 meters off the ground. You don’t normally “move†higher than this. Boeings and other “closed†aircraft don’t count, coz they take off differently, and you have time to “prepare for it.†You also have a capsule around you that interferes with the feeling of “being in touch with the skies…â€Â
So – there you are, shooting skywards in the open. You can reach out and “touch the sky†but you’re already a couple of hundred feet in the air! It actually takes your mind a couple of seconds to marry up the fact that you are NOT inside anything, yet so high up, while you are instantly introduced to a new perspective of the world, while all your senses are telling you that YOU are up there alone, without a wing. See – when you look outward and downward, you see no wing. Your mind seems to make the assumption (or draws the conclusion) that YOU are flying! This ALL happened to me in SPITE of having been in light aircraft and helo’s many times!
So – to try to explain, it feels like you’re in a motorcycle because your mind “let’s you believe†there is no wing, so it makes the NEXT assumption (we’re DRIVING up here), although you know this is TOTALLY illogical. But let me tell you – this “internal struggle†is the BEST part of flying in a trike!
This may last anything between 10 seconds and 30 seconds, depending on how experienced you are with flights. My softness (Jackie) told me it felt like this throughout her whole flight of about 15 minutes or so with Demon! Anyway – so there is no other way to properly explain this experience… I will call it an internal struggle between the known world, known experiences and the actual events and perspectives… And it rocks!
So as we fly, Demon cruises and shows me how “soft†the plane can be in a glide. Amazing… He then makes some very steep banks, which I previously believed might cause problems (whip-stalls?), and/or exceed the design characteristics of the plane. Not this baby! She’s as solid as a rock!
Next, we did the whole touch-and-go thing… I actually think this is super awesome… Hoe gently that little bird can touch down like a butterfly, then ROCKET out of there like a bat out of hell is amazing. The best comparison I can find for this sensations would be to say that I now know what a Fish Eagle feels like when he swoops to grab a fish…
Then we went around again and Demon took the trike for a wash… For those of you that don’t know what that is, ask Demon… All I can say is – it’s the coolest thing I have EVER experienced, but I would NOT even START to explain or recommend it to newbies… I myself will reserve this manoeuvre for when I reach my 1000 hours on a particular trike… Suffice it to say that I loved every second of it…
Then came the “windgat fly-by†a fly-over at low altitude, turning out into yet another cool and exhilarating hard bank…
We finally landed and my life came to an end… No – we didn’t crash… We just stopped flyhing… Same thing to me!
After some prepping and clearing, Demon fired the baby up… Choegga Choegga Choegga Braaaaammmm… Cool! When he power it and she starts sliding forward, you realize how easily the power of that baby can be under-estimated by the uninitiated… The 450 is NOT a simple “motorcycle of the sky…†Oh no, bubba… It’s a freaking Harley! It’s all attitude… I can just hear it… “Bad to the Bone…â€Â
So, as I was saying, Demon pulled in and we got me all strapped in and sorted out… I had to scoot back as far as possible, coz there is ONE little flaw with the 450 (or is it a flaw with me?): It wasn’t built for people that are 1,87m tall, like me! The weight was no problem, but Demon was only capable of somewhat limited flight due to my LOOONG legs posting my knees practically ahead of HIM! So, the bar would occasionally snag against those long poles of mine and thereby limit our speed a bit… He couldn’t get more than 100 mph! Pity!
We took off like a bat out of hell, but I want to first wander off into another realm a bit right here…
See, for about 25 years I was involved in various forms of Martial Arts. I trained with some local and some internationally acclaimed instructors. Now I am fatter and un-fitter and wiser, so I carry a .45 and donder long-distance… Anyway – one thing that I always admired about my instructors (sensei and shidoshi) was what it “felt†like in their presence. They ALWAYS had this quiet, powerful, graceful, poised confidence about them. Since practically all Martial Arts are contact sports (of note!) I got to “feel†the touch of my masters many times. Most of the time it involved pain, bruises, blood and near-death experiences, but be that as it may, I know their touch personally. Thse masters would always impress me (as a young artist) with how well their hands and feet could ALWAYS find the most sensitive spots on my body – they know JUST how hard to do what JUST WHERE, in order to make me cry like a cup-cake. Point is, they had an almost inhuman mastery of their interaction with other people. They could control not only a student, would-be assailant or competitor with absolute precision, but they also made it look effortless and poetic, while the opposite aikidoka (or whatever) would be punished with abandon…
I could also never get over how “strong†they feel, even when they are touching you “normally.†They are always capable of creating the impression that they are the original originators of the knowledge they share with confidence and superiority. Not the cocky arrogant type, but rather the “silent power†kind…
Now Demon… He FLIES like that! I am telling you! When I sat down behind this guy and put my hand on his shoulder to hand him his belt and give him the “all clear†that I was settled in and happy, I had IMMEDIATE flash-backs from my early Martial Arts days. Demon – in my eyes, you are a grand-master of trikes. A Shidoshi. There is a notable difference between a Sensei and a Shidoshi. A Sensei is a teacher (like in a school) while a Shidoshi is more like a guide – letting a student “experience†the teachings. I am telling you, brother – you have it! Keep it!
So – enough about Demon’s “status†lest he invites me out for dinner or thinks I am gonna propose to him… We took off like – as I said – bats out of hell…
I have read many times that people on www.microlighters.co.za call the trikes the “motorcycles of the sky,†and then they go on about how it actually feels like, well “a motorbike in the sky..†One thing NO-ONE could prepare me for is that flying in a trike actually feels more like riding a “motorbike in the sky…!â€Â
How’s it different? Let me explain: When you spool up, and run down the runway, prior to take-off, the engine sound, the wind in your face, the helmet on your head and the fact that you’re smack behind someone else makes it feel “exactly like a motorbike.†The acceleration is also part of it.
Then you lift off. I cannot put into words how good this feeling is! As soon as you lift off all the vibrations (from the tarmac) go away and you INSTANTLY lose your “normal†horizon as a point of reference… Remember – even in a double-decker bus you’re a mere 3-4 meters off the ground. You don’t normally “move†higher than this. Boeings and other “closed†aircraft don’t count, coz they take off differently, and you have time to “prepare for it.†You also have a capsule around you that interferes with the feeling of “being in touch with the skies…â€Â
So – there you are, shooting skywards in the open. You can reach out and “touch the sky†but you’re already a couple of hundred feet in the air! It actually takes your mind a couple of seconds to marry up the fact that you are NOT inside anything, yet so high up, while you are instantly introduced to a new perspective of the world, while all your senses are telling you that YOU are up there alone, without a wing. See – when you look outward and downward, you see no wing. Your mind seems to make the assumption (or draws the conclusion) that YOU are flying! This ALL happened to me in SPITE of having been in light aircraft and helo’s many times!
So – to try to explain, it feels like you’re in a motorcycle because your mind “let’s you believe†there is no wing, so it makes the NEXT assumption (we’re DRIVING up here), although you know this is TOTALLY illogical. But let me tell you – this “internal struggle†is the BEST part of flying in a trike!
This may last anything between 10 seconds and 30 seconds, depending on how experienced you are with flights. My softness (Jackie) told me it felt like this throughout her whole flight of about 15 minutes or so with Demon! Anyway – so there is no other way to properly explain this experience… I will call it an internal struggle between the known world, known experiences and the actual events and perspectives… And it rocks!
So as we fly, Demon cruises and shows me how “soft†the plane can be in a glide. Amazing… He then makes some very steep banks, which I previously believed might cause problems (whip-stalls?), and/or exceed the design characteristics of the plane. Not this baby! She’s as solid as a rock!
Next, we did the whole touch-and-go thing… I actually think this is super awesome… Hoe gently that little bird can touch down like a butterfly, then ROCKET out of there like a bat out of hell is amazing. The best comparison I can find for this sensations would be to say that I now know what a Fish Eagle feels like when he swoops to grab a fish…
Then we went around again and Demon took the trike for a wash… For those of you that don’t know what that is, ask Demon… All I can say is – it’s the coolest thing I have EVER experienced, but I would NOT even START to explain or recommend it to newbies… I myself will reserve this manoeuvre for when I reach my 1000 hours on a particular trike… Suffice it to say that I loved every second of it…
Then came the “windgat fly-by†a fly-over at low altitude, turning out into yet another cool and exhilarating hard bank…
We finally landed and my life came to an end… No – we didn’t crash… We just stopped flyhing… Same thing to me!
- Attachments
- Getting in With Demon!
- me00.jpg (90.5 KiB) Viewed 1938 times
Stan Bezuidenhout
- ForensicFlyer
- Solo cross country
Bo arrives!
So, while I was in the air with Demon, we heard another aerie pull in! We got back and saw this lovely craft standing there! It was Bo! I had met him on Saturday evening when him and his softness took Jackie and myself out for dinner! It was SOOO cool to see him there! We had spent quite some time the previous eve talking “planes†and parted ways as friends. So it was a real treat when I saw him standing there! The plane attracted adequate attention as well…
This aerie was flown in by another new friend I had made. Bo. On Saturday evening, before the Harties affair, Bo and his Softness took Jackie and myself out to dinner. It was a lovely little place and we all enjoyed it. The food was great and the company of highest quality.
I actually envy Bo, my new friend, because he also has lots of flying experience with lots of aircraft in lots of environments. Those cannibalistic thoughts popped into my head again! I checked out the aerie from all angles and was totally blown away by how comfortably he landed this relative “beast†on the runway. Perhaps this is my own lack of knowledge and experience, but I assure you – it was totally cool to have Bo there as well….
This aerie was flown in by another new friend I had made. Bo. On Saturday evening, before the Harties affair, Bo and his Softness took Jackie and myself out to dinner. It was a lovely little place and we all enjoyed it. The food was great and the company of highest quality.
I actually envy Bo, my new friend, because he also has lots of flying experience with lots of aircraft in lots of environments. Those cannibalistic thoughts popped into my head again! I checked out the aerie from all angles and was totally blown away by how comfortably he landed this relative “beast†on the runway. Perhaps this is my own lack of knowledge and experience, but I assure you – it was totally cool to have Bo there as well….
- Attachments
- The aerie Bo arrived in!
- bo plane.jpg (91.24 KiB) Viewed 1936 times
- Me in Bo's Aerie!
- bo2.jpg (79.65 KiB) Viewed 1936 times
Stan Bezuidenhout
- ForensicFlyer
- Solo cross country
Jackie flies with Demon!
So Demon took Jackie (my softness) for a flip… The funniest thing happened! If I had my camera handy, I could have proven it! Jackie had her goggles on upside-down! But even funnier than this – I am the one that put them on her head, shame!
We giggled quite a bit at this!
Then Demon took off to Taxi and they took a leisurely flight. I actually asked Demon to “take it easy,†since he is the one that is introducing her to trikes and I would prefer her to have a positive first experience. After all – I want her to support me and to come and fly with me when I have my trike!
So they took off – like bats out of hell, and had a jolly good time. When they landed, Jackie immediately told me that she did enjoy it and that she would love us to “get one…†Thanks again Demon… Jackie and I have been a team for over 16 years, and we literally do EVERYTHING together. We work together 24/7, stay together, laugh together, cry together (although I NEVER cry, coz Cowboys don’t cry and all…), and soon fly together.
We have had repeated discussions since the flight and Jackie assures me she will be happy if we can own our own trike!
It was already late and most folks needed to get back home before sunset. Unfortunately, the braai was a wash-out coz the meat was not all done, and people had to get going, so…
Anyway – the meat WAS there, but the timing sucked a bit. Sorry guys! So all the fly-in dudes left and will be well missed by us both!
Then Dark helmet pulled out his baby… And we went flying to gether. I grabbed my Video Camera and recorded practically the WHOLE flight! Excellent stuff… I wish I could share the whole DVD with you all!
As we powered up and took off, there was the smell of burning rubber! “I smell something burning,†he says to me. I’m thinking “Thank God I am not a freaky pax!†So my mind literally runs over everything WE (I wasn’t gonna take full responsibility) did to the aerie in super-fast motion, trying to think of something electrical we could have made a mistake with. I concluded that there was nothing and casually answered “Can’t be us.â€Â
It turned out it wasn’t and that some folks were burning some tyres a short distance from the runway upwind of our position… Phew! I actually like these kinds of challenges and concerns. They remind you that you’re alive – as long as they are mistakes… When they get real, I’d “sug heavy!â€Â
Anyway, at one stage, he told me to “hold the bar.†I found that the trike was actually very easy to control. I was immediately comfortable with the left/right inversion (push left, turn right) issue, and I think I handled myself pretty well.
As he has pointed out, this is actually hard work. You can’t just “wave†the bar where you want it to be – it takes some physical commitment. And that’s another aspect I love about trikes – they give you a FREE work-out!
So we flew around quite a bit and enjoyed every minute of it. The views were fantastic and the weather couldn’t have been better. As a pilot, I found Dark Helmet to be precise, intelligent, comfortable, confident and reassuring. Although he has far less hours that I know Demon has, his mastery of his craft was very tangible. He has a calm confidence I have seen with so many good pilots. All I can say is – I flew with both Demon and Dark Helmet, and I was totally comfortable with them both…
Our flight took us up and away quite a distance. We were at a decent altitude (about 1000ft or so) and got the most fantastic views of the area from this perspective. At no time did I have the time to become acrophobias or nervous – I was just too busy having fun up there!
I got some LOVELY video footage of various areas and we even flew over some roads. Since Accidents are my business, I found this elevated view most interesting and relevant to my environment. I could just imagine the applications for traffic patrols and accident tinvestigations…
So, we completed our flight and landed again – lovely stuff…
Then there was the kak-praat and the dopping…
We dropped DH off later and got an excellent night’s sleep. BOTH Jackie and I dreamed about flying on Sunday night.
We giggled quite a bit at this!
Then Demon took off to Taxi and they took a leisurely flight. I actually asked Demon to “take it easy,†since he is the one that is introducing her to trikes and I would prefer her to have a positive first experience. After all – I want her to support me and to come and fly with me when I have my trike!
So they took off – like bats out of hell, and had a jolly good time. When they landed, Jackie immediately told me that she did enjoy it and that she would love us to “get one…†Thanks again Demon… Jackie and I have been a team for over 16 years, and we literally do EVERYTHING together. We work together 24/7, stay together, laugh together, cry together (although I NEVER cry, coz Cowboys don’t cry and all…), and soon fly together.
We have had repeated discussions since the flight and Jackie assures me she will be happy if we can own our own trike!
It was already late and most folks needed to get back home before sunset. Unfortunately, the braai was a wash-out coz the meat was not all done, and people had to get going, so…
Anyway – the meat WAS there, but the timing sucked a bit. Sorry guys! So all the fly-in dudes left and will be well missed by us both!
Then Dark helmet pulled out his baby… And we went flying to gether. I grabbed my Video Camera and recorded practically the WHOLE flight! Excellent stuff… I wish I could share the whole DVD with you all!
As we powered up and took off, there was the smell of burning rubber! “I smell something burning,†he says to me. I’m thinking “Thank God I am not a freaky pax!†So my mind literally runs over everything WE (I wasn’t gonna take full responsibility) did to the aerie in super-fast motion, trying to think of something electrical we could have made a mistake with. I concluded that there was nothing and casually answered “Can’t be us.â€Â
It turned out it wasn’t and that some folks were burning some tyres a short distance from the runway upwind of our position… Phew! I actually like these kinds of challenges and concerns. They remind you that you’re alive – as long as they are mistakes… When they get real, I’d “sug heavy!â€Â
Anyway, at one stage, he told me to “hold the bar.†I found that the trike was actually very easy to control. I was immediately comfortable with the left/right inversion (push left, turn right) issue, and I think I handled myself pretty well.
As he has pointed out, this is actually hard work. You can’t just “wave†the bar where you want it to be – it takes some physical commitment. And that’s another aspect I love about trikes – they give you a FREE work-out!
So we flew around quite a bit and enjoyed every minute of it. The views were fantastic and the weather couldn’t have been better. As a pilot, I found Dark Helmet to be precise, intelligent, comfortable, confident and reassuring. Although he has far less hours that I know Demon has, his mastery of his craft was very tangible. He has a calm confidence I have seen with so many good pilots. All I can say is – I flew with both Demon and Dark Helmet, and I was totally comfortable with them both…
Our flight took us up and away quite a distance. We were at a decent altitude (about 1000ft or so) and got the most fantastic views of the area from this perspective. At no time did I have the time to become acrophobias or nervous – I was just too busy having fun up there!
I got some LOVELY video footage of various areas and we even flew over some roads. Since Accidents are my business, I found this elevated view most interesting and relevant to my environment. I could just imagine the applications for traffic patrols and accident tinvestigations…
So, we completed our flight and landed again – lovely stuff…
Then there was the kak-praat and the dopping…
We dropped DH off later and got an excellent night’s sleep. BOTH Jackie and I dreamed about flying on Sunday night.
- Attachments
- And off they go!
- jackie01.jpg (90.49 KiB) Viewed 1934 times
- Jackie getting in with Demon...
- jackie02.jpg (73.35 KiB) Viewed 1934 times
Stan Bezuidenhout
- ForensicFlyer
- Solo cross country
Other pics...
And finally, some other general pics of the day...
- Attachments
- An awesome approach!
- landing2.jpg (99.55 KiB) Viewed 1933 times
- How's that landing!
- landing.jpg (96.95 KiB) Viewed 1933 times
- Trixie!
- trixie.jpg (85.25 KiB) Viewed 1933 times
Stan Bezuidenhout
Nice writeup. All of us can remember that very first exhilirating feeling of flying in a Mircolight for the first time. Your next will be the first lesson, the day you go solo and finally passing the flight test.
BTW you didn't have to go all the way to JHB to meet fellow Microlighters. We have a sh!t load of them here in CT too. It's time I introduced you to the world of 3-axis microlights. I'll show you how a little 503 can happily cruise at 85mph, including your 107kg.
Once again, a nice writeup, you should do something for Trixie to put in the magazine
BTW, I still have copies of the latest African Skies just come talk nicely to me, and bring your R25 bucks of course

BTW you didn't have to go all the way to JHB to meet fellow Microlighters. We have a sh!t load of them here in CT too. It's time I introduced you to the world of 3-axis microlights. I'll show you how a little 503 can happily cruise at 85mph, including your 107kg.

Once again, a nice writeup, you should do something for Trixie to put in the magazine
BTW, I still have copies of the latest African Skies just come talk nicely to me, and bring your R25 bucks of course
Re: More Pics...
Stan, when I saw the pic of the helo together with the name Alwyn it rang a bel. His dad Alwyn Burger, owns the fly-in guest house at Tanqua national park, not far from Ceres in WC, definitely a place to visit. That's where I saw the helo couple of months ago.ForensicFlyer wrote:While we were busy, a lekker little helo (baby Belle) cruised in and landed right there. Cool pilot. 22 Years old. Commercial Fixed and Rotary. Flies King-air’s and shit, and has FAAAAR too many credentials to my liking. At a stage I mused at killing him and eating his brains to get all his “powers.†If it works for cannibals, right?
So, the helo pilot (I think Aalwyn?) looks at me and says “

Nooitgedacht: 124.8 Alt 1050 ft
S 32°16'49.8 E 18°53'33.0
- DarkHelmet
First off... let's christen ForensicFlyer FFL, Fairy Flycatcher is FF.
Now, FFL, your writing is what has inspired me every day to fly. Reading you is what I feel during every day out flying. Your write up is excellent and thanks for sharing the experience with me. It was AWESOME to be with you and Jacqui for the day! Thanks for all the help and assistance and a really great time!
Demon, Big D, Ratman, Thunderboy, Bo, Tobie - all thanks for a memorable day!
FFL did mention one thing that I want to echo too...
FFL - I think I was to you what these people are to me. It is amazing to surround yourself with folk that have more hours on the belt than yourself.
Now, FFL, your writing is what has inspired me every day to fly. Reading you is what I feel during every day out flying. Your write up is excellent and thanks for sharing the experience with me. It was AWESOME to be with you and Jacqui for the day! Thanks for all the help and assistance and a really great time!
Demon, Big D, Ratman, Thunderboy, Bo, Tobie - all thanks for a memorable day!
FFL did mention one thing that I want to echo too...
I also see Demon as a Shidoshi, same as I see my original flight Instructor Alan Pilz. I feel the same way around Fairy Flycatcher, Flo Momberg, Jenair (the wing guy), Mike Blythe, and many flight instructors I have met to date.ForensicFlyer wrote: See, for about 25 years I was involved in various forms of Martial Arts. I trained with some local and some internationally acclaimed instructors. Now I am fatter and un-fitter and wiser, so I carry a .45 and donder long-distance… Anyway – one thing that I always admired about my instructors (sensei and shidoshi) was what it “felt†like in their presence. They ALWAYS had this quiet, powerful, graceful, poised confidence about them. Since practically all Martial Arts are contact sports (of note!) I got to “feel†the touch of my masters many times. Most of the time it involved pain, bruises, blood and near-death experiences, but be that as it may, I know their touch personally. Thse masters would always impress me (as a young artist) with how well their hands and feet could ALWAYS find the most sensitive spots on my body – they know JUST how hard to do what JUST WHERE, in order to make me cry like a cup-cake. Point is, they had an almost inhuman mastery of their interaction with other people. They could control not only a student, would-be assailant or competitor with absolute precision, but they also made it look effortless and poetic, while the opposite aikidoka (or whatever) would be punished with abandon…
FFL - I think I was to you what these people are to me. It is amazing to surround yourself with folk that have more hours on the belt than yourself.
- afskies scribe
- The sky is all mine
Re: Flight with Demon...
Good stuff, FFlyer!ForensicFlyer wrote: Demon fired the baby up… Choegga Choegga Choegga Braaaaammmm… Cool! When he powers it and she starts sliding forward, you realize how easily the power of that baby can be under-estimated by the uninitiated… The 450 is NOT a simple “motorcycle of the sky…†Oh no, bubba… It’s a freaking Harley! It’s all attitude… I can just hear it… “Bad to the Bone…â€Â
Demon – in my eyes, you are a grand-master of trikes. A Shidoshi. There is a notable difference between a Sensei and a Shidoshi. A Sensei is a teacher (like in a school) while a Shidoshi is more like a guide – letting a student “experience†the teachings. I am telling you, brother – you have it! Keep it!
We took off like – as I said – bats out of hell…
So – there you are, shooting skywards in the open. You can reach out and “touch the sky†but you’re already a couple of hundred feet in the air!
Demon cruises and shows me how “soft†the plane can be in a glide. Amazing… He then makes some very steep banks... She’s as solid as a rock! Next, we did the whole touch-and-go thing… I actually think this is super awesome… Hoe gently that little bird can touch down like a butterfly, then ROCKET out of there like a bat out of hell is amazing. The best comparison I can find for this sensations would be to say that I now know what a Fish Eagle feels like when he swoops to grab a fish…
Then we went around again and Demon took the trike for a wash… For those of you that don’t know what that is, ask Demon…

scribbles
Nothing beats FLYing!
ZU-FLY
Nothing beats FLYing!
ZU-FLY
- DarkHelmet
- afskies scribe
- The sky is all mine