THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"
Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"
Gebraaide hammers smaak nie lekker nie.
Kom ons bly maar liewer by tentopslaan ek sien ons het 'n paar spesialiste in die Tailwinds geledere
My magies Oom Dawid, waar kruip jy nou uit. So lank laas van jou....op die forum....gehoor. Welkom terug.
Ek sukkel deesdae met tent op slaan....sal by Nick en sulke deskundiges moet leer...miskien kan Oom Paula ook advies gee...veral na al sy jaare van ondervinding.
Sorry to hear the BBton trip was cancelled chaps
WX just not giving you guys a chance it seems...
If Stef does not fly on Sunday morning....I'll join you to Renosterkop and back Paul.
Need my fix as well! Been a while....

WX just not giving you guys a chance it seems...

If Stef does not fly on Sunday morning....I'll join you to Renosterkop and back Paul.

Need my fix as well! Been a while....

Had a lekker flight to Renosterkop and back this morning. Thanks Alan and Byron for joining in. Weather was a bit windy but smooth at 6000 and above. 1 and half hours there and 35 minutes back, what a great flight.
I phoned the owners of Hermina and Kranspoort airfields....but alas ,these are no longer serviceable. What a beautiful area....wish we could land there.

- Tribal Croc
DBP is one good looking planemulderpm wrote:Had a lekker flight to Renosterkop and back this morning. Thanks Alan and Byron for joining in. Weather was a bit windy but smooth at 6000 and above. 1 and half hours there and 35 minutes back, what a great flight.I phoned the owners of Hermina and Kranspoort airfields....but alas ,these are no longer serviceable. What a beautiful area....wish we could land there.

Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here
#exploringsouthafricanskies
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Ek stem saam...Tribal Croc wrote:DBP is one good looking plane

What a lekker flight....been a while since Paul and I flew formation....I enjoyed it immensely.

Nice to have Byron on our starboard side too in the fixed wing....sheesh boet you must be dizzy after that many orbits??

Glad Aunty D didn't get any photographic evidence of my landing.....

See you guys at the braai

Oh, I totally agree....just such a pity the panniers and seats look so faded and old....Tribal Croc wrote:DBP is one good looking plane

Hint...hint...say no more.
But then you are biased François.

It took Byron a trip "home alone" to unwind from his orbits. Sorry Byron...but I did warn you we are slow.

And, for the first time,....tested my newly acquired heated Gerbing jacket....warm as toast. Really cancels the cold in an open cockpit..what a pleasure.

....kinda like some pilots I know?....mulderpm wrote:....just such a pity the panniers and seats look so faded and old....![]()

Paniers definitely need attention in the near future though yes.

TC....you may just get to see your old bird up close real soon again...hope there's still some space next to the discoball and geel kerneels?

Looks like we braaiing in a gale on Sat?

Baton down the lambtjops boys!...

- Tribal Croc
Bundy wrote:
TC....you may just get to see your old bird up close real soon again...hope there's still some space next to the discoball and geel kerneels?DBP's coming for a visit hopefully the first weekend in Sep...will book short notice when the weather looks lekker.
![]()
![]()
No problem will be lekker flying in formation with DBP

He He you are 100% spot on theremulderpm wrote:
But then you are biased François.

Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
- bobthebuilder
- Pilot in Command
The truth about what REALLY happened.....
Ever since I changed over from flying trikes, to fixed wing, I have noticed a gradual decline in the number of early morning take-offs. The pillow just seems way more appealing than the frigid winter air. Getting lazy I guess, BUT! .... I made the effort to join these "tail winded" dudes from Microland. 04H00 and I was up, along with the rest of the family who had some pretty choice utterances from the depths of their slumber.
With a spring in my step, and some pep in my smile, I joyously skipped out of the front door in anticipation for the 06h30 take off giving me plenty of time for a thorough pre-flight and a leisurely cup of coffee.
I arrived at Petit at 05h10 and spent some therapeutic time reading my favorite aviation magazine on the toilet in my hanger. YIP! .... I know, I am about as proud of my private toilet, as I am about my aeroplane.
06h28, and my hanger door is locked. Everything checked and ready to go. I didn't really need the loo, but you know how it goes .... two hour flight .... errrr!!!, sooooow ...., lazy, lazy, I strolled out to the back of the hanger whipped it out and killed the weeds.
152.5 hrs on the hobbs:
06h33 and the engine gingerly sprang to life. With 55 Liters on board, I had plenty of sous for the flight ahead. Renosterkop, is only 1 hour, and 45 minutes away.
With great excitement, I taxied out with the glorious Jo-burg sun on my face. An eager 7 knot north easterly wind held the wind sock out. Crossed or not, this was easy, this was fun! Throttle open .....
152.6 on the Hobbs:
Overhead Microland. Two trikes on the ground greeted with a welcome as warm as the sun on my face. I’m flying a little screw because the wind is crossed, and my feet are a little cold. Trikes are off the ground with a few humorous exchanges and we are soon zone outbound with a respectable ground speed of 47 Kts.
153.1 on the Hobbs:
Routing between Rhino Park and Zynkraal. ground speed has slowed a bit to around 40 Kts. The sun has been masked by the morning haze, but in the distance we can see Renosterkop protruding out of the low cloud in all of its glory. There is a tiny radio mast on top and I alter my heading. Paul obviously had the same idea and I caught a wee bit of prop wash. At about that time I felt the faintest sensation of needing to pee.
153.4 on the Hobbs:
We are just north of Bronhorstpuit dam and the little radio mast on top of Renosterkop seems a little bigger. My feet are f@#%ing cold. We have slowed to a ground speed of 31 Kts and I need the loo. The five cups of coffee at the restaurant last night have made friends with cup from this morning are hinting at making their way out. Just got slammed with prop wash again from the trike up front. Loosening the shoulder harness has helped alleviate some pressure on my bladder.
153.9 on the Hobbs:
We have about ten miles to run but that f@#king radio mast isn't getting any bigger. I cannot feel my feet and my bladder feels like it's the size of a small hippopotamus. I have popped the button on my jean pant to make some space and pulled my zip down. It feels a little better now, so I look around on the ground for a spot to land, but NADA!!!!
While looking at the map for the closest runway in complete and utter desperation, I try to think of an excuse to tell those f@#king prop wash generators up front why I WILL NOT BE FLYING WITH THEM ANYMORE! Can this stupid plane not go any faster!!!
I Don't give a F*#K about the HOBBS!!!:
Desperation is the mother of all invention!!! Finally I had a use for that bottle of Valpre' water I have carried with all that other RAMP inspection S@#t!
This little blue bottle was suddenly WAY more of an asset than that shitty toilet in the corner of my hanger. It was about to become the toilet and the thought of p@#sing in it was heavenly.
It was pulled from a pocket behind the passenger’s seat with extreme vigor. With one hand on the stick pulling back to keep the speed in check with the trikes, I removed the blue bottle cap with my teeth and retained it in my mouth for future use. There was nowhere to pour the water out and drinking it would only complicate my already DIRE problem. There was only option.... open the door and pour the water out!
With no hands immediately available, I pinched the stick between my knees and opened the door.(This felt SOOOO good!!!)
Now therein lay the next debacle. God hates me!! It's a two piece door that splits horizontally in the centre of the door. Two doors .... one hand! The top half started to flap up and down. and I had no hand to catch it! It suddenly dawned on me that this was a bad idea. The thought of whipping out my junk and taking aim directly out the door fleeted across my mind. To hell with the bottle!!!
As I leaned over with paul on my left, his passenger waved!!!! Sanity prevailed the idea was aborted.
I spat the lid out and held the water bottle with my teeth. Once the door was closed, In agonizing pain, I bent over to pick the lid up off of the floor and caught sight of the fuel level hose under the panel.
OH F@#K
!
Problem number two! The hour and a half flight had consumed lots of fuel. In a very stuttery, squeaky voice I proclaimed in public air space that I was going to return to Petit.
Paul excitedly responded on the radio with some comment about only being about 2 miles from the most beautiful scenery.
I DIDN"T CARE!!!!!
I was returning .... alone .... NOW!!!!
The flight back was fast. The sensation of peeing in my pants was now overcome by an irrational fear of running out of fuel. I opened the throttle and put the nose down which scored a few extra knots. Keeping the ball (the panel mounted one) in the centre got me an extra 3 KTS. The ground speed was an unimaginable 87 KTS!!!
Rhino Park seemed like a good place for a precautionary, but the speed was good and the fuel level was not dropping as fast as I had imagined, so I pressed on back to Petit.
The harrowing return flight lasted just 32 minutes but it felt faster. I joined directly onto down wind and realised that although the wind was crossed my bladder was not allowing a go-round.
So ..... Paul ..... Alan ...... since I missed the destination, can we do it again next week?
Ever since I changed over from flying trikes, to fixed wing, I have noticed a gradual decline in the number of early morning take-offs. The pillow just seems way more appealing than the frigid winter air. Getting lazy I guess, BUT! .... I made the effort to join these "tail winded" dudes from Microland. 04H00 and I was up, along with the rest of the family who had some pretty choice utterances from the depths of their slumber.
With a spring in my step, and some pep in my smile, I joyously skipped out of the front door in anticipation for the 06h30 take off giving me plenty of time for a thorough pre-flight and a leisurely cup of coffee.
I arrived at Petit at 05h10 and spent some therapeutic time reading my favorite aviation magazine on the toilet in my hanger. YIP! .... I know, I am about as proud of my private toilet, as I am about my aeroplane.
06h28, and my hanger door is locked. Everything checked and ready to go. I didn't really need the loo, but you know how it goes .... two hour flight .... errrr!!!, sooooow ...., lazy, lazy, I strolled out to the back of the hanger whipped it out and killed the weeds.
152.5 hrs on the hobbs:
06h33 and the engine gingerly sprang to life. With 55 Liters on board, I had plenty of sous for the flight ahead. Renosterkop, is only 1 hour, and 45 minutes away.
With great excitement, I taxied out with the glorious Jo-burg sun on my face. An eager 7 knot north easterly wind held the wind sock out. Crossed or not, this was easy, this was fun! Throttle open .....
152.6 on the Hobbs:
Overhead Microland. Two trikes on the ground greeted with a welcome as warm as the sun on my face. I’m flying a little screw because the wind is crossed, and my feet are a little cold. Trikes are off the ground with a few humorous exchanges and we are soon zone outbound with a respectable ground speed of 47 Kts.
153.1 on the Hobbs:
Routing between Rhino Park and Zynkraal. ground speed has slowed a bit to around 40 Kts. The sun has been masked by the morning haze, but in the distance we can see Renosterkop protruding out of the low cloud in all of its glory. There is a tiny radio mast on top and I alter my heading. Paul obviously had the same idea and I caught a wee bit of prop wash. At about that time I felt the faintest sensation of needing to pee.
153.4 on the Hobbs:
We are just north of Bronhorstpuit dam and the little radio mast on top of Renosterkop seems a little bigger. My feet are f@#%ing cold. We have slowed to a ground speed of 31 Kts and I need the loo. The five cups of coffee at the restaurant last night have made friends with cup from this morning are hinting at making their way out. Just got slammed with prop wash again from the trike up front. Loosening the shoulder harness has helped alleviate some pressure on my bladder.
153.9 on the Hobbs:
We have about ten miles to run but that f@#king radio mast isn't getting any bigger. I cannot feel my feet and my bladder feels like it's the size of a small hippopotamus. I have popped the button on my jean pant to make some space and pulled my zip down. It feels a little better now, so I look around on the ground for a spot to land, but NADA!!!!
While looking at the map for the closest runway in complete and utter desperation, I try to think of an excuse to tell those f@#king prop wash generators up front why I WILL NOT BE FLYING WITH THEM ANYMORE! Can this stupid plane not go any faster!!!
I Don't give a F*#K about the HOBBS!!!:
Desperation is the mother of all invention!!! Finally I had a use for that bottle of Valpre' water I have carried with all that other RAMP inspection S@#t!
This little blue bottle was suddenly WAY more of an asset than that shitty toilet in the corner of my hanger. It was about to become the toilet and the thought of p@#sing in it was heavenly.
It was pulled from a pocket behind the passenger’s seat with extreme vigor. With one hand on the stick pulling back to keep the speed in check with the trikes, I removed the blue bottle cap with my teeth and retained it in my mouth for future use. There was nowhere to pour the water out and drinking it would only complicate my already DIRE problem. There was only option.... open the door and pour the water out!
With no hands immediately available, I pinched the stick between my knees and opened the door.(This felt SOOOO good!!!)
Now therein lay the next debacle. God hates me!! It's a two piece door that splits horizontally in the centre of the door. Two doors .... one hand! The top half started to flap up and down. and I had no hand to catch it! It suddenly dawned on me that this was a bad idea. The thought of whipping out my junk and taking aim directly out the door fleeted across my mind. To hell with the bottle!!!
As I leaned over with paul on my left, his passenger waved!!!! Sanity prevailed the idea was aborted.
I spat the lid out and held the water bottle with my teeth. Once the door was closed, In agonizing pain, I bent over to pick the lid up off of the floor and caught sight of the fuel level hose under the panel.
OH F@#K

Problem number two! The hour and a half flight had consumed lots of fuel. In a very stuttery, squeaky voice I proclaimed in public air space that I was going to return to Petit.
Paul excitedly responded on the radio with some comment about only being about 2 miles from the most beautiful scenery.
I DIDN"T CARE!!!!!
I was returning .... alone .... NOW!!!!
The flight back was fast. The sensation of peeing in my pants was now overcome by an irrational fear of running out of fuel. I opened the throttle and put the nose down which scored a few extra knots. Keeping the ball (the panel mounted one) in the centre got me an extra 3 KTS. The ground speed was an unimaginable 87 KTS!!!
Rhino Park seemed like a good place for a precautionary, but the speed was good and the fuel level was not dropping as fast as I had imagined, so I pressed on back to Petit.
The harrowing return flight lasted just 32 minutes but it felt faster. I joined directly onto down wind and realised that although the wind was crossed my bladder was not allowing a go-round.
So ..... Paul ..... Alan ...... since I missed the destination, can we do it again next week?
Last edited by bobthebuilder on Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Byron Kirkland
Why certainly Byron. And, I thought it was your radio that made your voice so croaky....now I understand. Must admit there were a couple of frantic dashes to the toilet when we landed at Microland, some 20 min after you.
Just please, empty you blader before we take off or connect your water outlet to a bottle before we leave.

Byron...that just made my day....hahahaha
Classic.

I missed your "turn around".....I'd in advertently changed to FAKT frequency when my leg brushed up against the radio whilst trying to pull my flight suit over my boots!! I was wondering why you were all so quiet?

One advantage of the trike I guess.....in an emergency.... unzip and let RIP.....you'll be dry again by the time you get there??...

Alan & Byron I realy had such a great time. Flying is my passion and my life....just so great to have these times....flying with my passionate buddies...Bundy, control that F@KT leg of yours
....en Oh donner, I must never fly behind you......prop wash se moer
See all you schally wags at FABA Saturday...Byron, please join us

- Robbie Shaw
- The sky is all mine
Guys now that was a good laugh ..... Byron I'm in next time ..... Sorry about not attending .....
See you all at the braai soon ...
Robbie Shaw. (Rhodie)
Zero seven 2 5 six zero 2 six two seven
ZU-BJU. (Love Machine)
Airmanship No 1
Zero seven 2 5 six zero 2 six two seven
ZU-BJU. (Love Machine)
Airmanship No 1
- bobthebuilder
- Pilot in Command
Oh dear!!!
I will be in the Kruger Park this weekend.
Byron Kirkland