Trip to Estcourt/Himeville

Re: Trip to Estcourt/Himeville

Postby Blue Max » Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:53 pm

Agree with Asterix about your route.!!
Those are great pics Demon, and also a very challenging undertaking to do the route via your suggestion..As soon as i get my GT 450 i might conciddar that route.
Asterix, Alpha, it will be so nice to have you okes at Numbie. That is where i will be that weekend.
8)
MADDOG

Postby MADDOG » Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:05 pm

Asterix - Take your Aquila to the 'burg. I went with mine and can assure you it is wonderful. Yes, you must take care and watch out for the weather and at times you fly nice and high but you are trained for it and you plane is made for it.

Do it, I can highly recommend it.
Aquilla the Hun
Alpha

Postby Alpha » Mon Aug 29, 2011 1:06 pm

Hi All,

Proposed flight plan for this trip can be seen at vfrplanner.co.za. The route is saved on page 4 as Klip to Himeville.

Any suggestions welcome and of course, the more trikes the merrier...so come on people, join us. (^^)

Fly Safe
(-)

Asterix

Postby Asterix » Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:49 pm

Eishh.. Maddog, no.. I is scared.. It is not the high flying that bothers me - I have been high - it is 50% terrain and 50% fast changing weather. The terrain I can still mentally overcome - "In Rotax We Trust." But the Weather? I got caught out once in my life with sudden IMC, you know the story..Tjankgat James.. Never again.. I start trembling just thinking about it! :(

I would much rather fly around the Berg and still view it. As a matter of fact, I have been dreaming of a trip around Lesotho. Betlehem - Golden Gate - Clarens - Ficksburgh - Lady whatsisname - Wepener - down into the cape then up the Eastern side via the normal KZN points.
MADDOG

Postby MADDOG » Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:27 pm

Flying in and out of Dragon Peaks must be on every microlighters bucket list. As Nike says - Just do it!
Aquilla the Hun
Alpha

Postby Alpha » Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:29 pm

MADDOG wrote:Flying in and out of Dragon Peaks must be on every microlighters bucket list. As Nike says - Just do it!
So Maddog,

Does that mean you are going to join us??? (^^)

BOOMARANG
Survived first engine out

Postby BOOMARANG » Tue Aug 30, 2011 4:41 pm

[quote="Asterix" I would much rather fly around the Berg and still view it. As a matter of fact, I have been dreaming of a trip around Lesotho. Betlehem - Golden Gate - Clarens - Ficksburgh - Lady whatsisname - Wepener - down into the cape then up the Eastern side via the normal KZN points.[/quote]

Asterix When you plan that trip and look for partners to fly with, let me know and I'm in. My cammo Aquilla would love it!!
BOOMARANG

Postby Blue Max » Tue Aug 30, 2011 5:46 pm

Alpha, sorry cant join you, will be at Numbie at the end of the month.
Take asterix advice and fly the safe route.
Demon,..Awsome pics and it must have been a very great and challenging adventure you okes undertook..
Did some-one mentioned 14000 thousand ft with a trike.???( dit is f@kken hoog)
The last pic with the approaching thunderstorm is something to worry about,..!!
When your trike is not in a hanger when a storm like that passes overhead you are going to have big problems...Twice my trike has been blown over under those conditions...
Maar moenie worry nie ek sal nog opvang met julle laaities.!!! (!!)
Alpha

Postby Alpha » Tue Aug 30, 2011 9:48 pm

[/quote]
BOOMARANG wrote:[quote="Asterix" I would much rather fly around the Berg and still view it. As a matter of fact, I have been dreaming of a trip around Lesotho. Betlehem - Golden Gate - Clarens - Ficksburgh - Lady whatsisname - Wepener - down into the cape then up the Eastern side via the normal KZN points.
Asterix When you plan that trip and look for partners to fly with, let me know and I'm in. My cammo Aquilla would love it!![/quote]
Hey Cor,

Why not join us for this trip on the 30th of September! Nice long flight, into awesome surroundings!

Asterix,

Gaan jy ons join?

Oom Paul,

Dit so nice gewees het as jy kon ons join, jou ervaringe sou n bate gewees het! Geniet Numbi, ek join julle daar volgende jaar

BOOMARANG

Postby BOOMARANG » Wed Aug 31, 2011 4:24 pm

Will seriously consider joining you guys, but will only be able to give a final answer by 15/20 September if its not too late and OK with you? Just to confirm, you are flying arround and not over Sani Pass? I am with Asterix on this one.........eks maar lekker banggat!
BOOMARANG
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:24 pm

Demon and Co.. at the risk of me being vilified.. Are you guys REALLY encouraging low hour pilots with 503's to fly over the Drakensberge? REALLY?? What do you think the take-off performance is of a 503 at 10 000 ft? Nevermind the fact that you guys can cruise at 100 mph to outrun weather, whilst these guys pull bar to get 55?

Plus - add your years of experience? Will you stand by when the loved ones of new pilots ask: "WHY?"

I respect you guys, I really do. Years ago on that OLD website I watched your pictures - this was before the GT's, I think you all flew Pegasus's in those days, and those pictures were a huge part of my inspiration to start flying. Plus all the stories you guys wrote about your trips to Berg. Early 2000's.

But there are people here who look at you, and they think it is normal business to fly like that, whilst you guys know that it is not! Don't tempt people to attempt exploits that will hurt them. There are a LOT of newer pilots, including myself, on this forum. Please stop encouraging behavior that will push them / their machines beyond limits.

Eish.. now I wait for the tonne of bricks to come down on my head - but - I don't care, I have spoken my piece. I still respect you.

Postby Blue Max » Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:38 pm

:o
Getting interresting!!!
Ek wonder of iemand in n 503 al daardie roete van Demon en co gedoen het.??
Asterix wrote:now I wait for the tonne of bricks to come down on my head
As n ou n trike vlieg dan is hy in elk geval n kansvatter .!!!
^
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:08 pm

There is a link for your pics, Demon. This link is all about a trip by Alpha to go and meet up with his buddies at Himeville, asking advice. (Take the time, go and read it from top to bottom, take a look at the pics that you posted - and have a hard look at your advice, in words and pictures) I respect you guys. Always have, always will. But be careful - some people might think that this is standard trike-flying.

If you want to post these pics - be balanced, and tell them that you guys too, have lost a friend in the past. I believe I see him in one of those pics that you posted..
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:38 pm

Ag please exulted One. ^*^^

Sorry Alpha for the hi-jack of your thread. I know you only wanted advise. Make your own choices and enjoy your trip and join up safely with your biker-buds in Himeville. And remember - you fly a Trike, not a Boeing. ##
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:09 pm

Depends on how you portray those trips and experiences.

Eg: A: - I flew over mountains and clouds for hundreds of km's - I have BIG BALLS. Or: B: I flew over mountains and clouds for hundreds of km's - Ek is 'n onverantwoordelike doos met 'n swak selfbeeld. En my vlug was ONWETTIG! (**)