New toy, or not......... YES !!

Rudix

New toy, or not......... YES !!

Postby Rudix » Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:11 pm

I have not been looking for a new toy, BUT, when a good deal comes along (and there is some space in the toy box).........

I bought an engine today, now that is one thing, but this engine came with a plane, the plan was to strip the engine from the plane (0h SMOH) and scrap/dump the plane, but I have been doing some research and after looking at the plane I realized that underneath all the dust the airframe is in great condition vhpy

So, looks like it would be a shame to scrap a perfectly good flying plane, just because it is slow ? (and ugly? :roll: )

The question is, what would you do ?

Here is a photo of a similar plane, also white but this one is equipped with crop spraying gear (red bits behind the wing), unlike mine.

It is an Aviatika-890U with a Rotax 912UL build by the same factory as the MIG fighters in Russia(Told you it is ugly :roll: )

Fly safe,
Last edited by Rudix on Thu Jul 10, 2008 5:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)
weedy

Re: New toy, or not.........

Postby weedy » Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:28 pm

Take the engine and instruments out and put the rest on a pole outside hanger :oops: ##
Claude
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:52 pm

weedy wrote:Take the engine and instruments out and put the rest on a pole outside hanger :oops: ##
Hmmmmmm, think you might be right, but the temptation to fly it first is HUGE :twisted:
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)
emil

Postby emil » Wed Jul 09, 2008 7:05 pm

aviatika must be one of the BEST microlights ever built...and no i am not talking STINg SAMBA and so on microlig..it comes out of the MIG factory...you can not break that plane ..i use to have a single seater with 618 engine..what a nice toy..also one of the only ones i know of that is spin rated

Postby The Agent » Wed Jul 09, 2008 7:10 pm

Ek het vi jou gese ek het n instructor op daai goed glo moer lekker airbatics.
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Wed Jul 09, 2008 7:14 pm

The Agent wrote:Ek het vi jou gese ek het n instructor op daai goed glo moer lekker airbatics.
Hi Oom Agent vhpy

Ja, ek dink ons vlieg hom vhpy vhpy

Sal die papier werk begin.......

Sien jou die naweek :wink:

Dankie Emil, goed om van iemand te hoor wat die vliegtuie ken !
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Wed Jul 09, 2008 7:55 pm

This sample does not look all that ugly, or is it just "growing" on me ? :shock:

Visibility should be quite good, something that is quite important to me, flew in a C172 the other day, it did NOT feel right !

Will take some photos on the weekend.
weedy

Postby weedy » Wed Jul 09, 2008 8:09 pm

Aircraft is fine but 80hp two up not so good Ive heard, a lot like my Sycamore great single seater but 2 up really needs more guts, they are built tough and as a result are heavy, so pax or fuel needs to be light, especially with a fat arse like mine in one seat. :oops:
Claude
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Wed Jul 09, 2008 8:19 pm

weedy wrote:Aircraft is fine but 80hp two up not so good Ive heard, a lot like my Sycamore great single seater but 2 up really needs more guts, they are built tough and as a result are heavy, so pax or fuel needs to be light, especially with a fat arse like mine in one seat. :oops:
I am sure more power will help, I mostly fly alone but I think the 95hp conversion would be a great option here, can only make it a nicer plane to fly.

I know many of the 2 seaters are flying with crop spraying kit and a 100l dusting tank, imagine how heavy that must be but I suppose those are only flow as single seaters.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:12 pm

Farmer here been using it for game work. Crashed it twice and walked away. Rebuilt and flew it again. The 582 is under powered, but it as stong as hell. FLY it then decide... (^^)

Postby Morph » Wed Jul 09, 2008 10:04 pm

There is a flying single seater at Morning Star with a 618 Motor (I'think) Boet has the bits and pieces of a 2 seater.

They don't have a throttle, they have an on-off button, i.e. full taps to climb and fly, no taps to land. :wink: :lol:

Postby John Boucher » Wed Jul 09, 2008 10:18 pm

I saw two of those in Reg V's hangar at Morningstar....

Postby Morph » Wed Jul 09, 2008 10:22 pm

He sold the 2 seater and only has the single left. Flies it regularly. I think the 2 seater is the one Boet is rebuilding

Postby John Boucher » Wed Jul 09, 2008 10:38 pm

There are a whole bunch for sale in the Classifieds....
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Thu Jul 10, 2008 5:53 am

Thanks for all the info everyone !

I see there are 36 on the SACAA register with 29 still "active", sounds like there are still quite a few flying. I saw Willie's ad for the 3 x Aviatika's, interesting !

I will fly it first, sounds like it might be fun and I am always keen on something different, this plane could fill the "low and slow" role with landings on unprepared strips quite well, just what is needed for a day of exploring all the little "runways" that I always wonder about when I am on my way somewhere.

The 80-95 hp upgraded will be done, can only help.

Fly safe (and watch out for the MIG coming out of the sun :lol: ),