THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Postby mulderpm » Fri Aug 22, 2014 2:57 pm

He...he...he...ek het tog lekker op Woensdag gevlieg. puff (!!)
HENNING JOHAN

Postby HENNING JOHAN » Fri Aug 22, 2014 9:18 pm

As ek 'n kite gehad het kon ek eers lekker gevlieg op rand.Ja dit was vandag winderig gewees.
FLY SAFE!!FLYBOY OBD.Aerotrike Scout 503 ZU-CAI.

Postby Bundy » Mon Aug 25, 2014 10:19 am

Nick has very unselfishly volunteered to get the gas griller up to std for us.... (^^)

I will take the two smaller gas hob's home with me this weekend to see if I can get em sorted. 8)

Otherwise we will just bring a few skottels as back up of the brekkie in Sep. (^^)

Snorted. :)

Postby Bundy » Mon Aug 25, 2014 10:24 am

So far.....Elands Trip (Sat 6th and Sun 7th Sep)

Tailwinds:

Me and Stef (DBP)
Gavin (mate of mine coming by car)
Andries Kruger (maybe?)

From Kroon Airfield: (^^)

Johan (Airhog)
Dawie du toit

Still lots of place!

Postby Bundy » Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:21 am

Last chance for any Eland's Camp Bookings Boy's!..... ^

I will be finalising and confirming with Oom Paul this evening. :)

And....

HAPPY BIRTHDAY HANNES!! (^^) (^^)
Paul Meanwell

Postby Paul Meanwell » Wed Aug 27, 2014 9:21 am

Would love to join you guys, but I'm away on business.

Enjoy and fly safe!
Drink Triple,
See Double,
Act Single!
ME 109

Postby ME 109 » Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:42 pm

Bundy wrote:So far.....Elands Trip (Sat 6th and Sun 7th Sep)

Tailwinds:

Me and Stef (DBP)
Andries Kruger (maybe?)

From Kroon Airfield: (^^)

Johan (Airhog)
Dawie du toit

Still lots of place!
Hi Alan
I am back in SA and will be there, weather permitting. Looking forward to this! ( Monica workig on Saturday so it will be myself, solo.
Andries Kruger
ZU-CSZ Aquilla 582 (Bumble bee)
faniel
Looking at the sky

Postby faniel » Wed Aug 27, 2014 9:49 pm

Hi Alan
Are there still some place for another two tailwinds , Me and Stephan

Fanie

Postby Bundy » Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:14 am

Nice one boys! (^^)

I will be booking/confirming accommodation for the following people today: :)

Tailwinds:

Me and Stef (DBP)
Andries Kruger
Fanie
Stephan

From Kroon Airfield: (already Booked)

Johan (Airhog)
Dawie du toit

Looks like we will be a 3 trike gaggle from FABA, two Aquilla's and a GT450. Most likely meet Andries overhead Loskop? Andries I will arrange to bring food etc for you as you have no ground crew. :) I will sort this out with you next week, you will just need to load your fuel onto the backseat and fly. (^^)

Fanie...If you guys can also plan to take your fuel with you on the trikes?...there will be space in the bakkie going with us for your bags and a cooler I'm sure. (!!)

This weekend the Wx is bad....but lets hold thumbs for next weekend!! (!!)

Thanks for joining....gonna be a ball! (^^)
ME 109

Postby ME 109 » Thu Aug 28, 2014 8:50 am

Thanks for setting up the weekend, Alan, much appreciated. I will sort out fuel, and wil settle the food and accommodation with you at the venue.
Please, weather, play along! (^^)
Last edited by ME 109 on Sat Aug 30, 2014 8:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andries Kruger
ME 109

Postby ME 109 » Thu Aug 28, 2014 8:54 am

Alan, my cell. 0 eight three 235 Double zero one four.
Andries Kruger

Postby Bundy » Thu Aug 28, 2014 1:34 pm

Right....here's the arrangements. (!!)

Oom Paul has booked us the Main Camp huts, x 3 (each one sleeps 4) Total = 12 people

Huts have bedding so all we need to bring is toiletries and a towel and our clothes. Cutlery/cooking utensils are on site. I will bring us a gas hob and a kettle for coffee etc etc. There is a swimming pool as well so bring a swembroek too.....Elands Camp gets #@$% hot ! 8)

The following people have booked acc with me:

Myself
Stef
Gavin
Andries Kruger
Fanie
Stephan
Johan
Dawie
Andre
Nathan

(Total = 10) We therefore still have two spaces left for any "late comers" ^

Cost for the Acc is R150 per person which includes a brunch on arrival. (ridiculously cheap?....thanks Oom! 8) )

You can either take your own beverages and food (braai) with for the evening or we can send the bakkie into town on arrival to get supplies. Those who need fuel can then also get when the bakkie does it's trip. The choice is yours....again....thank you Oom Paul for offering this!

For those flying from FABA, my mate Gavin will be there before we take off, so you can put your bags/coolers etc etc on his bakkie to take for you. You can pay him in beers... :lol:

The basic plan is to leave on the Sat morning and route via 1 of 3 options to Elands:

Option 1: FABA to Elands via Loskop Dam: (Approx 88 NM) Stunning!!...my first choice....
FABA to Elands via Loskop.jpg
Option 2: FABA to Elands via Rust de winter dam: ( Approx 80NM) Also very scenic in places. :)
FABA RDW ELANDS.jpg
Option 3: FABA to Elands Direct routing: (Approx 69NM) ( Lots and lots of RDP housing... Not so scenic.... :wink: )
FABA to Elands Direct.jpg
All this depends on the weather forecast and of course the conditions on route. If we find the going tough on either of the longer routes above we can always just change track and revert to the direct routing. (!!)

If you can be packed preflighted and ready to roll by 06h00 on Saturday....Bring your luggage to the lapa so we can load it on the bakkie....we can have a quick briefing on the route/weather and we will roll by 06h30 latest. (Sunrise is at 06h13)

This is going to be a lekker trip boys! (^^)

Weather is the boss as always....we'll pick the best option closer to next weekend...Sunday's return flight route will be discussed there over a nice ice cold beer! (^^)

Cant wait... vhpy

Postby Bundy » Fri Aug 29, 2014 1:07 pm

Bad news from our side boy's....wrt to the Elands Weekend... :(

Stef and I will be driving through.... :cry: ....DBP was damaged today as a result of the heavy winds in Gauteng. Gusting 20-25knts at the moment!
One of the locking catches on our hanger doors rattled loose and came undone which caused the LHS hanger door to swing inwards....broke the lock on the chain (sheer force of the wind) and it hit the back of our plane.

We have a broken NC prop blade as a result. :cry:

Really pissed.....but it could have been worse....had it not hit the prop and stopped there it would have taken out the entire port side of the wing.

So tomorrow I will take the prop off and it's off to Nigel @ NC to have a replacement blade fitted and balanced. Unlikely to get it back in time for the trip I'm afraid. :(

So Fanie and Stephan....ons sal jou tasse kom oplaai in die oggend maar jul sal maar Elands toe alleen moet vlieg.

What bad luck.... :(

Glad we chock our plane properly! She didn't move an inch....
Bateleur

Postby Bateleur » Fri Aug 29, 2014 2:19 pm

Crazy!! Ek is so die moer in man! O well, like you say Al, it could have been worse. Ground crew we shall be then!
Stef Oosthuizen
Step it up a notch!!
ZU DBP
NickSwardt

Postby NickSwardt » Fri Aug 29, 2014 8:21 pm

Ag nee man, sorry to hear boys!! ## ## ##
Do you know if any of the other hangers have geen damaged?

Hope you get it fixed soon (^^)