Silly things we do before we go fly

Re: Silly things we do before we go fly

Postby DarkHelmet » Fri Mar 09, 2012 4:19 pm

That was off topic, if any interest in dog tags we can split it off...

I sit outside, have a fag and watch the weather, then stop at the garage for a Yogi Sip

Normally have to have a bowel movement shortly after the first landing ;) (But that is post landing), then, if the flying is done for the day, a cold beer! (Okay okay! A COUPLE of cold beers!)
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:00 pm

Any runway is like a magnet to my bladder. I can have a pee wee, just 5min away from the field. As soon as I get there, I must water the runway.
Such a bloody pain.

Postby DarkHelmet » Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:07 pm

vernon11 wrote:Any runway is like a magnet to my bladder. I can have a pee wee, just 5min away from the field. As soon as I get there, I must water the runway.
Such a bloody pain.
Runway is a magnet for my bowels! At least you can still go behind the hangar/wall/in the bush....

Postby Tumbleweed » Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:17 pm

Ever happened to you where your tonsils are floating, you hear water in your ears and the bladder labour pains tell you you're not joining overhead but blasting in downwind to land?

Land just 100 metres before the people to open flight suit and let the heavens fall only to be surrounded by a concerned crowd that there's something wrong. :oops: :lol:
Pat Two

Postby Pat Two » Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:33 am

My prep starts the night before.

I lay out my clothes, wallet, headset, sunglasses, watch, keys on the spare bedroom bed to find it easily not to fumble around in the dark and waking up the whole house.

I "drop" the "kids" off at the pond too after preflight before starting.
Jaco P.
Zim Zulu

Postby Zim Zulu » Sat Mar 10, 2012 7:03 am

great topic, and it seems most pilots have the urge to "drain the tank" which is a pre-startup procedure of mine too!
preflight is done, then have a cuppa tea, while sitting quietly and put shoes and socks on!! (cant fly without socks and my flying tackies)
then flight suit!
always get in on the left side!
a post flying ritual is sitting with hanger doors open looking out over the dam and having a few quiet beers! most enjoyable i must say!!
"the world belongs to the energetic"
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Sat Mar 10, 2012 11:48 am

DarkHelmet wrote:
vernon11 wrote:Any runway is like a magnet to my bladder. I can have a pee wee, just 5min away from the field. As soon as I get there, I must water the runway.
Such a bloody pain.
Runway is a magnet for my bowels! At least you can still go behind the hangar/wall/in the bush....
DH.
The last time i had that problem, I had to go down an inbankment. During the process, doing what must be done I fell over backwards. To avoid the pooh pooh, I pushed myself to one side and fell down the imbankment. Landing up with roasties all over. Fortunatly the compulsary Medical kit was available. we were just about to take off for the Transkie. Not the most comfotable trip, to say the least.
Vernon.

Postby Boet » Sun Mar 11, 2012 5:31 pm

I have a whole ritual to go thru:
Drag myself away from home or work,
7miles drive to the airfield
open airfield gate.
Inspect runways for Aardvark gate.
If I find a dangerous one,
back to the hanger first to collect spade.
Get hangar open. Kiss aeroplane on spinner.
(When no-one is looking)
Pre-flight and refeulling takes about half an hour.
Get in, rub Kangaroo Balls for good luck.
(Rabbits foot?)
Fire up and go fly.
No other traffic
No ATC
Peace and quiet
No one to kak me out,
Sweet desolation!
Never get tired of flying.
Land, or do a couple of circuits
just to keep the old hand in.
Push aeroplane back into hangar.
Car and everything just as a left it,
no one here to steal anything while I am flying!!
Been doing this for 41 years
Novelty not worn off yet!
You other oke`s drinks too much beer!
That is why u must constanly go for a leak
just like a lady! :roll:
One wheel.JPG
One wheel.JPG (42.3 KiB) Viewed 1708 times
Bushbaby_dag_avontuur_(25_Feb_2011)_096.jpg
Bushbaby_dag_avontuur_(25_Feb_2011)_096.jpg (5.75 KiB) Viewed 1708 times
IMG_0159.jpg
IMG_0159.jpg (25.11 KiB) Viewed 1708 times
Loco

Postby Loco » Sun Mar 11, 2012 7:50 pm

Boet wrote:I have a whole ritual to go thru:
Drag myself away from home or work,
7miles drive to the airfield
open airfield gate.
Inspect runways for Aardvark gate.
If I find a dangerous one,
back to the hanger first to collect spade.
Get hangar open. Kiss aeroplane on spinner.
(When no-one is looking)
Pre-flight and refeulling takes about half an hour.
Get in, rub Kangaroo Balls for good luck.
(Rabbits foot?)
Fire up and go fly.
No other traffic
No ATC
Peace and quiet
No one to kak me out,
Sweet desolation!
Never get tired of flying.
Land, or do a couple of circuits
just to keep the old hand in.
Push aeroplane back into hangar.
Car and everything just as a left it,
no one here to steal anything while I am flying!!
Been doing this for 41 years
Novelty not worn off yet!
You other oke`s drinks too much beer!
That is why u must constanly go for a leak
just like a lady! :roll:
You're living the dream... (^^)
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds
Gompou

Postby Gompou » Mon Mar 12, 2012 12:52 am

Ja Boet, flying in the Boesmanland do have its privileges.

I only have to walk 60 paces to my hanger door from the front door of my house.
Living on a farm, and more precisely, flying on your own farm is a dream come true.
Reading how people have to travel many kilometres to a airfield to go flying make me feel privileged.
There is however a negative side to my story.
There are no flying buddies to enjoy with. Always take off alone. Come back alone.
No one to share the flying with, or share the joy of flying with. The wife and kids sometimes join me on a flight, but the interaction between pilots is what I sometimes miss.
I have to travel to Upington to get to my instructor and other pilots. This is a 250 km trip by road. In Upington the microlight pilots are scarcer than snow. Seams like everybody are flying a gyro now days.
Luckily I have internet and microlighters.co.za to read.
Naked Cobra
ZU-CON

Postby Boet » Mon Mar 12, 2012 3:15 am

Jaaa, daar is voordele en nadele verbonde aan die alleen vlieery! Jy kan maar kom kuier, ons is nie so ver nie! Of wanneer reel jy n fly in? vhpy

Postby Bundy » Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:29 am

Hi Boet,

Where is your farm? I am hopefully going to do a trip down the orange river next year and would be lekker to include your spot as a stop along the way if it's close to the river?

Looks like an awesome area to fly in Boet. Enjoy. (^^)

Postby Bundy » Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:32 am

Gompou wrote:Ja Boet, flying in the Boesmanland do have its privileges.

I only have to walk 60 paces to my hanger door from the front door of my house.
Living on a farm, and more precisely, flying on your own farm is a dream come true.
Reading how people have to travel many kilometres to a airfield to go flying make me feel privileged.
There is however a negative side to my story.
There are no flying buddies to enjoy with. Always take off alone. Come back alone.
No one to share the flying with, or share the joy of flying with. The wife and kids sometimes join me on a flight, but the interaction between pilots is what I sometimes miss.
I have to travel to Upington to get to my instructor and other pilots. This is a 250 km trip by road. In Upington the microlight pilots are scarcer than snow. Seams like everybody are flying a gyro now days.
Luckily I have internet and microlighters.co.za to read.
Please see my post to Boet above....let me know exactly where you are so I can come kuier when I do my trip to Alexander bay! (^^)

Postby Aerosan » Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:34 am

I check my prop, just in case... OH and keep that bloody Quack away from my right door :twisted: Last time I flew with him I had to buy a new plane... :lol: :lol:
Blue Eagle

Postby Blue Eagle » Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:53 am

Like DH - I'm the "post flight" habit of relaxing with a couple of cold one's... be it whisky or brutal fruit; that's my "relax and think about the flight" time.... Reminisce ... (^^)
"Every day is an Air Show.... just watch the birds...."