Low Flying over Karan Beef Feedlot 09h00
- Leprachaun
Low Flying over Karan Beef Feedlot 09h00
Hi Folks I have had a disturbing and very irate Feedlotter on my neck this morning.
The Feedlot at Heidelber has 123,000 cattle in their feeding pens.
A Microlight with a green and blue wing cover was seen fflying at less that 30 magl over the pens.
Whoever did this please refrain from doing so immediately .
Mr Jannie Botha the manager was on the phone to CAA with immediate effect .
Alex Rudd
The Feedlot at Heidelber has 123,000 cattle in their feeding pens.
A Microlight with a green and blue wing cover was seen fflying at less that 30 magl over the pens.
Whoever did this please refrain from doing so immediately .
Mr Jannie Botha the manager was on the phone to CAA with immediate effect .
Alex Rudd
A pilot lives by perfection , or not at all!
Re: Low Flying over Karan Beef Feedlot 09h00
Oom Alex - was hy "disturbing" of "disturbing"
Waarskynlik beide
But seriously though - dis nie 'n nice ding om te doen nie. En dit maak die boere kwaad vir ons almal.
And imagine if the guy has an engine out and finds himself kneedeep in bullsh
t?? eish.. hy en sy trike gaan vir laank stink!!
Groete
James

And imagine if the guy has an engine out and finds himself kneedeep in bullsh

Groete
James
I agree that whoever this is, is taking huge risks, endangering himself and others and should not be doing that.
Having said that, I have a few questions and a comment
The aircraft was 100 feet (30m) agl but the manager did not see the registration number ?
What method was used to determine the altitude of the aircraft. 30m is roughly the height of a 10 story building.
I have flown over wild animals at low altitude (on my own farm) on several occasions and they do not even blink. I think it is because they associate danger with things coming at them on ground level unless the are regularly hunted or chased from the air. Cattle should be bothered even less.
Just my 2c
Having said that, I have a few questions and a comment
The aircraft was 100 feet (30m) agl but the manager did not see the registration number ?
What method was used to determine the altitude of the aircraft. 30m is roughly the height of a 10 story building.
I have flown over wild animals at low altitude (on my own farm) on several occasions and they do not even blink. I think it is because they associate danger with things coming at them on ground level unless the are regularly hunted or chased from the air. Cattle should be bothered even less.
Just my 2c
- nicow
It is always turbulent over that feedlot-I think that pilot was not enjoying his low level(
) flight....

- Biggles
- Pilot in Command
How do you know its always turbulent over that feed lot?nicow wrote:It is always turbulent over that feedlot-I think that pilot was not enjoying his low level() flight....

Trike pilot
Aerotrike Cobra
ZU-DLP
Winelands FAWN
Aerotrike Cobra
ZU-DLP
Winelands FAWN
- RV4ker (RIP)
123000 cows co2 ommissions....
Strange, we have a large cattle farm just south of Sandkloof, and it is always turbulant over the feedlot, even at 2000ft AGL, must be all the methane rising!
Rusty

Rusty
Rusty, but getting there.
Lets be honest, If I were a bull in a feedlot waiting for some guy to bash through my scull into my brain with a long sharp metal boject so that a rugby loving, biltong eating South African (Like myself) can cut me into nice thick pieces to braai for lunch the last thing that is going to bother me will be a microlight overhead. Lets not bother the poor creatures and leave them to wait for their time to die in peace!
Now running for the hills!

Lower, Lower ...........
I sometimes get confused............But i'm not sure
- Tribal Croc
Nou weet ek waar daai taai stuk steak van noudie aand af gekom het 

Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here
#exploringsouthafricanskies
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here
#exploringsouthafricanskies
He has to many cattle so not short of money so please tell him to hush up or maybe he should go and sleep with his cattle.
Always the big monet that moans the most, sorry but that how I feel.
Ja do be careful but please.
Whether he has a lot of money or not, Means Sh@#t. If he has a legitimate gripe, so be it.The Agent wrote:He has to many cattle so not short of money so please tell him to hush up or maybe he should go and sleep with his cattle.
Vernon.

- RV4ker (RIP)
Ever seen the damage 123'000 cows can do when they get grumpy (stampede). Those are his trading stock, am sure you be grumpy if someone caused problems for yours....
PS
Owner flies plenty so is well aware of the regs.....
PS
Owner flies plenty so is well aware of the regs.....
Not everybody knows where all the Feedlots/ Chickenfarms /and Old age homes are .....
so this could easily be an "honest mistake" Some of us aren't even always sure of our own position (within a couple of K's) while enjoying the scenery, so putting it on a map or NOTAM probably wouldn't help either ....Local knowledge
!...... shouldn't criticise too harshly unless shoot up or repeat offender

Flying is not a matter of life or death, it's much more serious than that!