Pilot fined R12 000 for low-flying

Re: Pilot fined R12 000 for low-flying

Postby John Boucher » Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:35 pm

Also various views being vented on AVCOM...

May I ask where the transgressors airfield is? May he just be in "the way" in the name of nature conservation where in hindsight there are other serious transgressors doing much more damage direct & indirect?

One of the posts on AVCOM touched on mining rights and I tend to agree with him - should "oil" or some rich "uranium" source be found under this prime protected site... don't come and waffle that this heritage site wouldn't fall by the way side of money hungry individuals!

What is good for the goose is surely good for the gander but the difference is here that the one foot is yellow and the other one is also orange! (**)
ZULU1

Postby ZULU1 » Tue Mar 30, 2010 3:45 pm

Francois is from mBazwane location Sodwana Bay. Rough airfield.
Zulu1
Centrifugal force in pure Physics does not exist, however this does not apply to Taxi drivers..
Mark Hudson
Passed radio course

Postby Mark Hudson » Tue Mar 30, 2010 4:21 pm

Francois now has his own airfield in Sodwana, very nice, stayed over with him last month, he has mattresses and bathroom facilities in his hanger and only charges R100 per person to stay over, help pay his fine, arrange fly ins to his field.
Francois's field Sodwana.jpg
Francois's airfield
Braai time, Ant, Brett, Mark & Mike.jpg
Braai time
Ant, Francois, Mike, Brett & Len.jpg
Ant, Francois, Mike, Brett & Len
Ballito
Foxbat A22
ZU-MRH
Lieb Liebenberg
Passed radio course

Postby Lieb Liebenberg » Tue Mar 30, 2010 4:46 pm

:evil: You can mine in Mpumalanga and StLucia,but let your tyre touch the ground!!!!!!!!!!Julle mag ook net nie rook nie,hoor! :evil:
aka: IMPI

Postby nicow » Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:20 pm

It looks like he did not use a good attorney-or his attorney worked for the government....
nico@limpopoflightschool.co.za
Hak

Postby Hak » Tue Mar 30, 2010 8:07 pm

:evil: First of all, there are 2 sets of rules. Same as with politicians, do you have money and do you know right people. Microliters are easy targets. :x :( (But they would want HELP 4 bird count and ANTI POACHING) (^^)
"THe suspense is terrible. I hope it will last."
Hak

Postby Hak » Tue Mar 30, 2010 8:17 pm

:? BUMPY you sound like an angel. (-) When last did you look in a mirror :wink: (^^)
"THe suspense is terrible. I hope it will last."
DieselFan

Postby DieselFan » Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:34 pm

How often do microlighters fly over these areas? Weekends? And we worried about the birds mating being disturbed?!! ** (**), 5 mins disturbance is negated by the rival male eyeing out his bird or a sudden required drink or poop or whatever, seriously this is pathetic.

4x4's weigh around 2 tonns. An acquaintance of mine was fined for boozing and driving on the beach with his (UNLADEN 2 ton weight), R250. My parents caravaned down in PE recently, there were Perlemoen poachers intimidating the visitors, the police did NOTHING. In Benoni the drugs are sold on the street with cops waving by. An annoying extended family member drinks and drives CONSTANTLY (total alcoholic) has had many accidents, killed or injured dogs and the cops and courts ALWAYS let him go.

Seriously once more what a joke, the birds are disturbed and the numbers will crumble!? We are not LAX!? For 5 mins out of 10 080 minutes in a week and thats assuming that for their mating season of a month that we fly there every week over that SAME spot?! AND that we hover there for those 5 mins not cover the normal 1.6km in one minute! See how insane this is?

Heck next thing we gonna get them beds in the Sound proof DOME, kill the crocs that make them too nervous to get it on?!

This is not about breaking the law it's about IDIOTS making the law. Look at Zimbabwe's new 51% black ownership law - same thing. R12000 is not realistic, if you think it is then perhaps you have some other frustration in your life and venting it this way? Like me?

I had a Cheetah fly towards me months ago no radio calls NADA only to bank 200m away from a head on and fire off afterburners this 500m away from my circuit and only 500ft agl, I landed with blood pumping, we MICROLIGHTERS are EASY targets cause we fly SLOW and they can see our REG. Next thing they gonna ask us to RIVET our numbers on...

This guys lawyer needs to meet mine.

I have participated in some game counts etc. Most big birds and ALL birds of prey are not scared of my trike. Mostly cause we fly so slow! I've tested this NUMEROUS times, if you fly low they don't fly away but pick up some height and they think you're a MASSIVE bird of prey.

The part about "applying for permission" / permit is a joke too, so when the powers that be get some money it's then OK to disturb the mating ritual? And now that you have permission your flyby can be 10 mins - to get value for your money ofcourse.

At Marakele Park I had an Ostrich walking about 50m away and headed away from me, I chased my buddies kid for 10m, at same time this ostrich skrikked and ran too (both opposite directions), I stopped when I saw him running, as I stopped, he did too and he slid and made a loud wallop falling on his butt. Must we close all nature parks now?

Point being REALISTICALLY and COMPARATIVELY Microlights are as a % of "interference" a 100th no a 1000th of that "disturbance" exerted by 4x4's, divers, caravanners, campers, boats and nature lovers.

Oh and can someone please switch off the waves at the beach cause they make too much noise, the durbanites mating habits are suffering. Perhaps we should flyby the presidential suite and stop more babies?

Postby John Boucher » Wed Mar 31, 2010 8:36 am

Dieselfan.... tjommie.... you are ALIVE!

I do think the fine does not fit the crime.... Jub Jub gets out on bail for a similar amount and that after killing people! (**)
pietmeyer

Postby pietmeyer » Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:37 am

DieselFan wrote: Point being REALISTICALLY and COMPARATIVELY Microlights are as a % of "interference" a 100th no a 1000th of that "disturbance" exerted by 4x4's, divers, caravanners, campers, boats and nature lovers.

Oh and can someone please switch off the waves at the beach cause they make too much noise, the durbanites mating habits are suffering. Perhaps we should flyby the presidential suite and stop more babies?

I take exeption to the fact that caravanners cause a disturbance ## I take great care to drive around the turtle eggs when towing my caravan on the beach (**)
Wit karavaan Gemors en trots daarop vhpy

Just kidding. I agree that so many other things causes probles, why take it out on microlighters. Just watch Durban Beach during December. How many broken bottles, paper, plastic and used condoms, as well as a few floaters (bodies and other floating things) wash out on the beach. Look at Hartebeespoort Dam. Raw sewerage is pumped into the dam every day. The focus is being placed on the wrong issues. Fly Low, Sweet Chariot......don't know the rest of the words of the song (**)
Piet Meyer
Jabi J400 ZU-DUU (Wonderboom)
skybound®

Postby skybound® » Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:51 am

Maybe not hugely important but remember the 'real' fine was only R2k.

The rest is suspended and as long as he does not break the law again in the next 5 years no more payable.

Also there is an indication that the Parks authorities had tried the 'friendly' route with him before taking legal steps.

Postby John Boucher » Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:58 am

I personally think that a lot of the "melk die wit koei" money drain systems are focussed on that what we mostly enjoy....

eg. Aviation and overfly costs by municipalities

eg. Fishing permits set to increase drastically

eg. Speeding kills (kak man... it is how quick you come to a standstill that does!) Road accident deaths... majority of them drunk pedestrians crossing busy highways now we have to ride slower so that the drunkies can cross safely you see!

eg. Capital gains tax.... we were intelligent enough to make wise financial choices and then we get nailed in the butt for that. I suppose we should have failed woodwork as well then we would be sipping Moet and all wearing Breitlings!

..... and we can go on and on and on!

The message sent by this fine also now lets one look at supporting the environment groups in there efforts in a totally different way. Which microlighter will now offer their support to these okes?
pietmeyer

Postby pietmeyer » Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:08 pm

"The message sent by this fine also now lets one look at supporting the environment groups in there efforts in a totally different way. Which microlighter will now offer their support to these okes?"

This a a great idea. Let us not fight the system but offer our help to the environmental groups. I will be the first to offer my time and my trike. I will volunteer to land my trike on all the beaches over a period of time so that the impact can be established and actual data be available of how bad our sport is for the environment. this can then be compared to the mining activities in the Richardsbay area. vhpy vhpy

Once the data is available, we can then do low flying over built up areas and dams such as Bronkies and Harties to get the impact there, all for research (^^)

All of this i say as a joke. I do agree there are rules that we should adhere to. It is just the fact that you get away with R200 bail for raping and killing and pay R2000 for maybe damaging a turtle egg (which tastes great with litle black pepper and sweet peppers).
Piet Meyer
Jabi J400 ZU-DUU (Wonderboom)

Postby John Boucher » Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:29 pm

I think we all agree that punishment was inevitable or of some sorts....
I think we all agree that the fine imposed does not fit the crime....
I think we all agree that we shall endeavour to send out a positive image of microlighting or aviation in general....

So the next time you see a chopper or Kingair commercial kingpin buzzing up the airspace (say to yourself - what double standards we have in SA... It's okay to get permission to fly over as this in no way has any affect on the ecology or environment - It's only when you fly over this air space WITHOUT permission that damage is done) ##

At the end of the day as Naas Botha would say, we have to retain our self-respect and be able to look at our mugs in the mirror!

Time to move on I suppose....
Biggles

Postby Biggles » Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:20 pm

If I read the news report correctly he was infact R2000 out of pocket after R10000 was suspended for 5 years or something.

As for overkill on the height. I suspect that there is a desire to restrict sight seeing tours over the park so permission (and income) comes from lower sight seeing flights. It is also much easier to tell from the ground if someone is over 4000' than 1000'.

The heights are established and no-one can claim ignorance. So be it on your head that you are breaking teh rules. But, suddenly enforcing a previously ignored (from what I can gather) law is heavy handed. A period of warning and friendly reminders (as in the Drakensberg) is a much more subtle way of inforcing a law, after a while of this repeated offenders deserve to be procecuted and the word will be out that you don't fly low in this area. This approach will work seeing as the majority of pilots are not criminals.

I see this as the authorities knee jerk reaction to teh recent poaching from helicopters. And the need to get some headlines.
Trike pilot

Aerotrike Cobra
ZU-DLP

Winelands FAWN