Airnav Pro latest update

Matters of general interest
User avatar
falconp1
Top Gun
Top Gun
Posts: 623
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Klipriver airfield

Airnav Pro latest update

Postby falconp1 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 12:23 pm

Airnav Pro have just released their latest update that includes some very nice additions. (^^)

Use your midnight data to download the latest 1in 500 map. 277 megabytes :shock:

I have now resorted to using my Ipad as my primary nav aid and an old 295 garmin as a backup. I personally won't ever buy another garmin gps. I have a draw full of them. From a gps12 to the 295. None can be updated anymore. Airnav pro is less than half the price of a basic aviation gps.
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11
freddievanrooyen@yahoo.com
User avatar
wackomedic911
Passed radio course
Passed radio course
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 6:37 pm
Location: Erm, not quite sure

Re: Airnav Pro latest update

Postby wackomedic911 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:09 pm

falconp1 wrote:
Tue Oct 17, 2017 12:23 pm
Airnav Pro have just released their latest update that includes some very nice additions. (^^)

Use your midnight data to download the latest 1in 500 map. 277 megabytes :shock:

I have now resorted to using my Ipad as my primary nav aid and an old 295 garmin as a backup. I personally won't ever buy another garmin gps. I have a draw full of them. From a gps12 to the 295. None can be updated anymore. Airnav pro is less than half the price of a basic aviation gps.
I run mine on a IPAD Mini 4 and a kneeboard. it truly is amazing. i love planning flights on it. it is absolutely awesome!
the plus side is the IOS versions gets a lot more updates then the android. (^^)
ZU-CEK
Flying might not be all plain sailing, but the fun of it is worth the price.

— Amelia Earhart
User avatar
falconp1
Top Gun
Top Gun
Posts: 623
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Klipriver airfield

Re: Airnav Pro latest update

Postby falconp1 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:19 pm

The flight to and from Numbi for the Africa Cup was made so much more pleasant with Airnnav Pro. Especially when it came to making radio calls. You knew exactly where you were and could make informed calls. The terrain and airspace features also let you know that you were about to enter controlled airspace so that you could adjust your flight path or altitude. Just make sure you have an auxiliary power supply like a cigarette lighter charger connected so that you don't run out of battery power.

I can't wait to try out the flight record features. Not often you get so much for so little.
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11
freddievanrooyen@yahoo.com
User avatar
JvTonder
Frequent Flyer
Frequent Flyer
Posts: 1323
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 10:47 am
Location: Rhinopark

Re: Airnav Pro latest update

Postby JvTonder » Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:33 am

Hi Freddie,

What is the costs off Airnav pro now?
Flying feeds the soul!
User avatar
falconp1
Top Gun
Top Gun
Posts: 623
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Klipriver airfield

Re: Airnav Pro latest update

Postby falconp1 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:58 pm

Hi J.

Go to play store and type in Airnav Pro and it will give you all the details. It cost me just on R1000.00 with all the maps. Well worth the bucks. It takes a lot of data to download. Almost 2 gigs in total so be aware. I've downloaded to my ipad so I have a nice big screen too. I use my old garmin suction adapter that I've modified to mount it on my screen.
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11
freddievanrooyen@yahoo.com
User avatar
Scorpio
Woohoo 100 posts - flying high
Woohoo 100 posts - flying high
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 8:20 pm
Location: PLM

Re: Airnav Pro latest update

Postby Scorpio » Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:19 pm

Hi Freddie,how does it works? do you use data from your simcard when you use airnav.
Kobus..~ Steelpoort Hillbillies s023 ~
User avatar
wackomedic911
Passed radio course
Passed radio course
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 6:37 pm
Location: Erm, not quite sure

Re: Airnav Pro latest update

Postby wackomedic911 » Sat Oct 21, 2017 7:54 am

Scorpio wrote:
Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:19 pm
Hi Freddie,how does it works? do you use data from your simcard when you use airnav.
Hi Scorpio, once everything is downoloaded, NO, no data connection. it uses the device's gps. on the apple devices you can go as far as to turn on airplane mode, the gps still works.
On mine, I turn off everything except bluetooth, and pair it up with my garmin GLO.its a great combination.
ZU-CEK
Flying might not be all plain sailing, but the fun of it is worth the price.

— Amelia Earhart
User avatar
falconp1
Top Gun
Top Gun
Posts: 623
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Klipriver airfield

Re: Airnav Pro latest update

Postby falconp1 » Sat Oct 21, 2017 10:41 am

Thanks for the flight mode tip Wacko. Did you pair the GLO for more accuracy or because your device has no internal GPS?
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11
freddievanrooyen@yahoo.com
User avatar
wackomedic911
Passed radio course
Passed radio course
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 6:37 pm
Location: Erm, not quite sure

Re: Airnav Pro latest update

Postby wackomedic911 » Sat Oct 21, 2017 10:49 am

A bit of extra accuracy, and in turn the device doesnt use its own gps thus saving a bit on battery. Yes i have 2 devices to charge but none the less.
ZU-CEK
Flying might not be all plain sailing, but the fun of it is worth the price.

— Amelia Earhart
User avatar
JvTonder
Frequent Flyer
Frequent Flyer
Posts: 1323
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 10:47 am
Location: Rhinopark

Re: Airnav Pro latest update

Postby JvTonder » Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:03 pm

Dankie Freddie.
Flying feeds the soul!
User avatar
mulderpm
The Boss
The Boss
Posts: 1655
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 9:53 pm
Location: Microland

Re: Airnav Pro latest update

Postby mulderpm » Thu Oct 26, 2017 8:44 am

I have been using Air Navigation Pro for 4 years and it is fantastic. I have some 1700 of my own airfields loaded.

I have purchased both the older South Africa 500k WAC (4 years ago) and the newer South Africa 500k WAC 2015. What is the difference between the two? I only see one Map listed in my "Map Options - maps". Under "All my products" both maps show as installed. How can I toggle between the two maps so that I can see the difference?
Paul Mulder
Tailwinds are the best
ZU-DBC Aquilla
Pretoria
User avatar
falconp1
Top Gun
Top Gun
Posts: 623
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Klipriver airfield

Re: Airnav Pro latest update

Postby falconp1 » Thu Oct 26, 2017 5:59 pm

Hi Paul.

Drop them an email. They always get back to me.
Very helpful crowd.
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11
freddievanrooyen@yahoo.com
User avatar
falconp1
Top Gun
Top Gun
Posts: 623
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Klipriver airfield

Re: Airnav Pro latest update

Postby falconp1 » Thu Oct 26, 2017 6:01 pm

Paul did you try unticking the map in your map selection?
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11
freddievanrooyen@yahoo.com
User avatar
salem
Look I'm flying
Look I'm flying
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 2:47 pm
Location: Cape Town

Re: Airnav Pro latest update

Postby salem » Fri Oct 27, 2017 2:39 pm

Flying the Challenger with AirNov Pro in Saldanha.
Attachments
AirNav Pro.jpg
AirNav Pro.jpg (30.49 KiB) Viewed 332 times
ZS-VFZ
User avatar
mulderpm
The Boss
The Boss
Posts: 1655
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 9:53 pm
Location: Microland

Re: Airnav Pro latest update

Postby mulderpm » Mon Oct 30, 2017 2:24 pm

falconp1 wrote:
Thu Oct 26, 2017 6:01 pm
Paul did you try unticking the map in your map selection?
Hi Falcon, yes I did. There is only one map and if I untick it there is no background map.

I have sent them an e-mail and they asked for more info as they can not simulate my problem.

I have two maps installed but only one shows up in the map selection.
Paul Mulder
Tailwinds are the best
ZU-DBC Aquilla
Pretoria

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest