BEST TWO STROKE OIL FOR ROTAX...????

Technical questions, advice, sharing information etc (aircraft, engines, instruments, weather and such)

Re: BEST TWO STROKE OIL FOR ROTAX...????

Postby Boet » Fri Jul 29, 2011 9:59 pm

Then on second thought, during a recent discussion, a friend of mine told us an interesting story. During a SOLO nogal trike tour of Namibia, he sometimes, or make that most of the times, could not get the two-stroke oil brand that HE liked to use. So he gooied the dom en doof act, bought what ever he could get, and mixed and matched to his heart`s content. To make a long story really short, his engine never misfired a beat, and would probably still be running if he did not bugger it up COMPLETELY in a crash. HE rests his case. I did not say a damn word............ (**) (**) (**) (**) (**) (**) (**) (^^)

Whatever oil you use, make sure it is clean, and PLEEEEEASE fly safe. :lol: :lol:

Postby John Boucher » Sat Jul 30, 2011 9:37 pm

Just a point here and I am by no means a technical oke... ek klap gewoonlik die goed reg jy weet!

It was my understanding that the oil you pre-mix into the fuel should be the same as the oil in the rotary valve filler bottle.... so, switching oils (of different types) means draining the rotary valve oiling system not so?

Kom nou, waar is die slim manne?

Postby Boet » Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:13 am

Moet JY nou wragtig weer begin? OK, nog een vir die slim manne. Wat van n baie sterker smeerolie in die rotary valve bottel? BV ...Shell Helix?? :roll:

Postby John Boucher » Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:21 am

Shell He-Licks and now BP She-Sucks ... this is starting to sound like something out of Masters & Johnson :lol:

And another question... on Tuesday I need to get fuel at Klerksdorp and only AVGAS available... can I gooi some AVGAS in for the stint to Hartswater and if so, must I change the oil pre-mix ratio? Also, does Caltex Super 2T mix with AVGAS... :roll:

Where is Duck Rogers when you need the fart?

Postby Boet » Sun Jul 31, 2011 10:27 am

Kom jy by my aan?

Postby John Boucher » Sun Jul 31, 2011 10:50 am

Not this time Boet... I think there is a definite trip planned out your way next year - will advise!

My week looks like this and has nothing to do with Two Stroke Oil... even though my Cheetah will be using it....

Postmasburg - Kuruman in the stukkende Isuzu (being not technical, I think the thing has a sticky valve or something ;-))
Kuruman - Kimberley John Weston in the Jab400 and do some circuits & landings
Kimberley - ORTambo in the Dash (back seat driver I'm afraid!)
OrTambo - Springs in the lift.... ;-) (also back seat driver I'm grateful!)
Springs - Klerksdorp - Eagle Flight Hartswater - Kimberley John Weston in the Cheetah
Kimberley - Postmasburg in the Jab400
Postmasburg - Mossel Bay in the Jeep
Mossel Bay - Van der Kloof - Kimberley in the Jeep
Kimberley - Mossel Bay in the Cheetah

10 days of puuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuure heaven!

Postby Low Level » Thu Aug 04, 2011 10:12 am

Haai Boet

Jy't nou die nuwe pilot - wat nog nie die ander 250 threads oor olie gelees het nie - so die skrik op die lyf gejaag - ek dink hy gaan ook nou sommer sonder olie vlieg. :lol: :lol:

Postby John Boucher » Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:09 pm

Okay... CALTEX SUPER 2T for ZU-CXO (always has and always will use it whilst there is a 582 up front!)

Flew like a dream to Klerksdorp. AVGAS mixed quite okay for the leg to Eagle flight - Hartswater and back on MOGAS for the remainder.

Postby Tumbleweed » Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:00 pm

With the 912s now 170 hours I've never had to add a drop of oil between services.

Unless I'm looking in the wrong place. :oops: :lol:

Postby John Boucher » Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:47 pm

Very Very witty...
Dobbs
Survived second engine out

Postby Dobbs » Tue Aug 09, 2011 8:15 pm

Guys, please lets not follow the "other local Aviation COMunity" website ##

We need to encourage questions, if it has been dealt with previously, lets follow Andy G's response - asked and answered - no one is forcing us to read this, move on if it frustrates you.

For what it is worth - you will not recoup your costs by using synthetic - in my opinion it is superior to mineral oil, but the only savings is probably going to be frequency of spark plug changes and decokes possibly.

Any "decent" oil will get you to the mandatory inspection time. I have never used synthetic oils, but my first 503 got me to 750 hours with original parts - using maily chain saw oil. Hangar mate only used synthetic oil and he sold his plane at 550 hours and still going strong.

For me, more important than the oil one uses, is how the engine is looked after, specifically when it is not used frequently. An instructor from the Cato area had an engine out on a 503 with less 50 hour since rebuild, but the rebuild had been done some 3 years earlier, the problem was found to be a failure of the big end due to damage caused from corrosion.

So either regularly fly, or at least run the engine up to operating temperature, or refer to the manual as to how to store the engine for some time so as to avaoid damage due to corrosion / moisture ingress

Have a look at this site for additional information - http://www.theultralightplace.com/choosing_oil.htm

Postby John Boucher » Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:22 pm

Guys, please lets not follow the "other local Aviation COMunity" website ##
We need to encourage questions, if it has been dealt with previously, lets follow Andy G's response - asked and answered - no one is forcing us to read this, move on if it frustrates you.
If you know the guys... there is a bit of tongue in cheek humour vhpy
Loco

Postby Loco » Fri Mar 30, 2012 9:49 pm

Hi, I'm unsure to use chainsaw or outboard oil on my 582

I've been told that Andre Maartens only uses chainsaw oil but most of the guys at my local airfield uses outboard because the 582 is water cooled

But then I did some googling and found this from the Rotax website: http://www.rotaxservice.com/rotax_tips/rotax_feed2.htm
To be avoided:
Oils whose label do not bear the above mentioned required specifications
Oils primarily designed for outboard 2-stroke engines
Mixing ratios other than 50:1
I'm confused!?

But I guess both oils have been proven in RSA
:)
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds
janjacobs66
Pre flight checks done

Postby janjacobs66 » Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:18 pm

I was also confused - until I decided to buy 25l Super Chain on Andre's advice,
now I don't care any more - cause if I do ...
I will feel worse about buying so much of the "incorrect" oil
Cheers !

Jan
Taildracula

Postby Taildracula » Wed Jun 13, 2012 3:24 pm