A shocking story!

Postby Duck Rogers » Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:47 pm

I was watching tv, minding my own business when the phone rang. It was Tailspin. He was at the hangar trying to sort out the rectifier regulator which, according to him didn't seem to charge the battery on his trike. He didn't have a multimeter with him and was trying to "eyeball" the fault.
So how do you know if the fault lies on the "incoming" side of the regulator (magneto side) or on the "outgoing" side? he wanted to know.
I thought about how I could help old Tailie out and then I got a brilliant idea! :idea: Easy, I said, with a mischievous grin on my face. (-) Start the engine and let it idle then just grab the 2 black/yellow wires from the magneto side before it gets to the rectifier and hang onto them, on the bare wires nogal. If you get a shock, the magneto works! If you don't get a shock then the fault lies at the magneto.
Now, Tailie wasn't too happy with that idea but I said it's only about 30V at idle....it'll just be a little tickle! :>> Tailspin reckoned that was a k@k idea as he didn't fancy getting shocked, not even a little one, and he'll rather continue looking elsewhere to see if he couldn't spot a loose or broken wire instead.
5 Minutes later my phone rang again. Jou f#$%en bliksem! His voice was quivering. 30V my @ss! It felt like like 220 and I'm still shaking! (**)
Now I was rolling on the floor laughing my ass off!. :lol: ........I guess he must have changed his mind about not getting shocked.. :lol:

I'm happy to report that Tailie is alive and well and that he found the fault after that shocking experience :lol: :lol:

Sorry Gav......I owe you a cold one (^^)

Re: A shocking story!

Postby John Boucher » Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:51 pm

That was a cheap test.... treat yourself to a dop Gav ;-)

Remember mine Ducky..... smoke bellowed out from behind the panel after the battery (shunt) was removed and fried the brand new MGL EGT and this in the middel of nowhere (Victoria West to be exact!)

Postby Duck Rogers » Thu Mar 14, 2013 11:21 pm

John Boucher wrote:That was a cheap test.... treat yourself to a dop Gav ;-)

Remember mine Ducky..... smoke bellowed out from behind the panel after the battery (shunt) was removed and fried the brand new MGL EGT and this in the middel of nowhere (Victoria West to be exact!)
Yip....I know you k@kked yourself but at least you didn't GET shocked, you WERE shocked!
wiskeyfoxtrot

Postby wiskeyfoxtrot » Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:57 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
" Excuse me while i kiss the sky "

Aeroprakt A22 Foxbat
ZU - DYE
Sport Cruiser
ZU - LSA

Postby Bundy » Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:13 am

Shame poor Gav...if he's not getting assualted with ice in the middle of the night its something else... :lol:

What shocking advice. (**)

:lol: :lol:

Postby Dish » Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:21 am

Darwin candidate

Postby Tumbleweed » Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:37 am

Where was this thread a week ago?

I had the exact same problem for two weeks and would have happily found a vollenteer to test the wires. :lol:

Postby nicow » Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:48 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: (^^)
vliegskool@hotmail.com
JvTonder

Postby JvTonder » Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:15 am

Had a good laugh thanks Duck!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Flying feeds the soul!
falconp1

Postby falconp1 » Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:36 am

Duck. Jy is darem n vark as jy gesuip is. :lol:
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11
freddievanrooyen@yahoo.com

Postby Tailspin » Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:43 pm

Thanks for the Advice Duckie - I do not get cross i get even.
We will meet again and then i will think of some way to exact my revenge.

Eish but it did Kick me moer hard. Was holding onto the frame when i was moving my had down the wires and HELLO she bit like a friggen moer kwaai hond. All i could think was Duckie jou F#$%^& Bliks$%^&. ## ## ## ## (**)

Wait i will get my revenge :!:

Postby Tailspin » Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:45 pm

Dish wrote:Darwin candidate
Love you too Brother :!:

Postby Boet » Fri Mar 15, 2013 2:41 pm

With some friends, who the hell needs enemies!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Ducks, jy is n bliksim, this is going to bite u in your gauteng side when least expected, and Taily wil go Hehehehehehe. ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Postby Duck Rogers » Fri Mar 15, 2013 3:59 pm

Ok, I have to set the record straight after having had a bit of fun with Tailie.
He didn't actually do what I suggested (I did REALLY suggest he grab the wires though)......he just ACCIDENTALLY got shocked but that's Murphy for you now, isn't it? And it was too good an opportunity to let pass without telling the story.... :lol: :lol:
Tailspin..old buddy, old pal, old chum........I guess I'll be continually looking over my shoulder from now on :shock: :shock:
ZU-CDW - Shark

Postby ZU-CDW - Shark » Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:49 pm

some good humour :P
Shark
ZU-CDW