THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Postby Bundy » Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:09 am

Well I hope I'll find at least one pilot there tomorrow for the Nav...

See you in da sky! (^^)
Gerrit.Tromp84

Postby Gerrit.Tromp84 » Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:25 pm

Hi Allan
Thanks for the opertunity! I'll save the dates. Here is my number 0823153976
GTFlycom
Info@gtflycom.co.za

Let's wake up every day to a perfect day of microlighting!
Frank Smallwood
Ready for the first flight

Postby Frank Smallwood » Mon Apr 18, 2016 10:42 am

Thanks to all who attended microland Braai on Saturday. As usual an opportunity to talk Kak with good people. My trike is almost ready to fly again. Just waiting for Andre to finish AP paperwork. See photos of new colour scheme. Can't wait to fly it again. Andre tells me it will feel quite different to fly with shiny new sail.
IMG_2798LR.jpg
Wing rigged and ready to be attached to cart
IMG_2798LR.jpg (72.16 KiB) Viewed 10159 times
IMG_2799LR.jpg
Windgaat, Andre's pet squirrel doing final inspection
IMG_2799LR.jpg (67.99 KiB) Viewed 10159 times
IMG_2801LR.jpg
Ready to go. Just waiting on paperwork!!
IMG_2801LR.jpg (76.44 KiB) Viewed 10159 times
Paul Meanwell

Postby Paul Meanwell » Mon Apr 18, 2016 11:08 am

Looking good! We can fly to the dam together sometime!

Drink Triple,
See Double,
Act Single!

Postby nicow » Mon Apr 18, 2016 1:06 pm

Frank Smallwood wrote:Thanks to all who attended microland Braai on Saturday. As usual an opportunity to talk Kak with good people. My trike is almost ready to fly again. Just waiting for Andre to finish AP paperwork. See photos of new colour scheme. Can't wait to fly it again. Andre tells me it will feel quite different to fly with shiny new sail.
Wow,I love the bright color - Great! (^^)
vliegskool@hotmail.com
ZU-AWA
ZU-DMM
ZU-AJO
ZU-AWF
ZU-BAI
ZS-WOR
ZU-TCT
ZU-DOD
ZU-CIE
ZU-BIW

Postby Bundy » Mon Apr 18, 2016 3:42 pm

Looks Great!

Happy flying Frank! (^^)
GavinL-W

Postby GavinL-W » Mon Apr 18, 2016 5:39 pm

Looks great frank! Hope she flys like a dream.

Postby Bundy » Mon Jul 11, 2016 6:32 am

Arranged a very last minute gaggle to fly into The Rose Airfield near Rayton on Saturday. :)

Joined by others from Baps and Rhino Park we had a lekker coffee at this great little Airstrip whose facilities are excellent for their locals. (^^)

Don't forget about the Tailwinds Fun Nav and Monthly braai this coming Saturday!! Jul 16th. (^^)
See Route details under "Events"

Some pics taken by Gavin LW...(will post mine later) ^
IMG-20160710-WA0013.jpg
IMG-20160710-WA0011.jpg
IMG-20160710-WA0010.jpg
IMG-20160710-WA0009.jpg
IMG-20160710-WA0007.jpg
IMG-20160710-WA0005.jpg
IMG-20160710-WA0003.jpg
ME 109

Postby ME 109 » Thu Jul 14, 2016 10:45 am

Great pictures guys!
Andries Kruger
ZU-CSZ Aquilla 582 (Bumble bee)

Postby mulderpm » Sun Jul 17, 2016 12:13 pm

For those flying to the bossveld game farm next weekend please find attached a Mapsource route file that you can upload to your Garmin GPS. Just change the file extension to .gdb
Bossplaas July 2016 GPSIII.PDF
(3.07 KiB) Downloaded 86 times

Postby mulderpm » Mon Jul 18, 2016 10:39 am

And a kmz file for Google Earth. Just save it to your PC and double click on it to open in Google Earth. (you must have Google Earth installed..... ^ ).
Boss Plaas route.kmz
(1.58 KiB) Downloaded 91 times
Wingover1

Postby Wingover1 » Fri Jul 22, 2016 2:59 pm

Hi Paul what happened with your ground crew? :roll:
ZU - ATE Windlass 503
ZU - CHG Aquilla 582
ZU - BAJ Bushbaby

Postby mulderpm » Fri Jul 22, 2016 5:59 pm

Sorry Franscois, we postponed due to weather. We will see you next time.
RV12
Survived second engine out

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."routing for the tower"

Postby RV12 » Sun Jul 24, 2016 10:05 am

Bundy wrote:Apologies... NW (Mhdg 306 deg) of the tower. :)

Was at ML on Sat to work on the plane and the conditions looked great. No wind on the deck, some nice smooth gliding approaches were demonstrated by student and resident alike. I think I'm missing the best time of year to fly! :twisted:
Bundy, do you have the GPS co-ordinates of the Bapsfontein tower ?

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."routing for the tower"

Postby Bundy » Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:15 am

RV12 wrote: Bundy, do you have the GPS co-ordinates of the Bapsfontein tower ?
Hi RV12,

Google earth has it at:

S 25 59'41.21"
E 28 27'04.57"